594-JAMBLINNE DE MEUX – ENSEMBLE DE LOGEMENTS POUR AG REAL ESTATE

Place de Jamblinne de Meux, Bruxelles, Belgique

24,000 m²; 2012 ; (01/594).

Services effectués:
  • Aménagement des abords
  • Architecture
  • Aménagement intérieur
  • Ingénierie de la structure
  • Ingénierie des techniques spéciales
  • Gestion du projet
  • Economie du projet
Description:

Un concours d’idées restreint est lancé par AG Real Estate pour le redéveloppement résidentiel d’une parcelle qui donne directement sur la place de Jamblinne de Meux. Sur cette parcelle, qui comprend aujourd’hui un immeuble de bureaux et un parc, il s’agit d’envisager 24.000 m² de logements, tout en tenant compte des aspects architecturaux, urbanistiques et paysagers du site.

Le site:

La place de Jamblinne de Meux occupe une position stratégique dans la ville, à proximité du quartier européen et au croisement d’axes structurants ; son aménagement urbain n’est cependant pas à la hauteur de son statut.  Ainsi, en particulier, l’immeuble existant sépare de façon malheureuse les deux parties de l’espace public, la place et le parc.

La proposition vise à démolir l’immeuble de bureaux pour réunifier l’espace public en un grand “parc”, qui aboutit sur une tour et un bâtiment bas allongé de logements.  La trémie du tunnel de l’Avenue de Cortenbergh est déplacée, les trottoirs sont supprimés et le quartier du parc bénéficie dès lors d’un cadre de vie plus paisible, en accord avec sa position sur le maillage vert régional.  L’axe urbain du 19e siècle, qui joint actuellement le square Marie-Louise et le square Ambiorix, traversera le nouveau square des Patriotes (ex-place des Gueux), pour s’épanouir dans le nouveau parc de Jamblinne de Meux.

Sous-sol:

Dans une optique d’économie, le sous-sol de l’immeuble existant démoli est maintenu.  Il est aménagé en un espace polyvalent : parking, caves privatives, night-club ou même bassin d’orage.  Dans le même esprit, la tour ne comprend pas de niveaux en sous-sol ; ceux-ci sont placés sous le bâtiment bas allongé.  Ils abritent un parking public comptant 70 emplacements par niveau.  La dissociation de l’accès au parking de celui des loge­ments augmente les échanges entre les habitants de l’immeuble et enrichit le tissu social.

Les sous-sols abritent également les stocks des magasins implantés en surface et les locaux techniques nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du nouveau complexe.

Espace public:

Le parc de Jamblinne de Meux s’étend désormais jusqu’au pied de la nouvelle tour, il l’entoure, puis s’étend vers la rue et le square des Patriotes.  La liaison entre les différents espaces publics est renforcée par la transparence et l’ouverture des rez-de-chaussée.

Cette continuité de l’espace public “absorbe” littéralement la tour dans son environnement, à la manière d’une église devant son parvis.  C’est ici que s’implantent diverses activités et animations urbaines, par exemple un marché à l’arrière de la tour, des commerces de proximité sous le bâtiment horizon­tal, des services ou équipements collectifs, les accès aux parkings souterrains, etc.

Le parc en tant que tel est aménagé et géré comme un jardin semi-public.  Il est bordé d’une galerie couverte qui aboutit à la terrasse d’un pavillon-restaurant, dont la façade principale encadre la per­spective du square des Patriotes.

L’espace public est matérialisé au sol par un même matériau, qui s’étend sans interruption de façade à façade.  Une nouvelle “mini-forêt” urbaine crée ici un “ciel vert” et les arbres remarquables du site sont bien sûr préservés.

Etage type de la tour et de l'immeuble bas:

La tour, haute de 30 étages et de forme strictement rectangulaire, est desservie par un noyau central de circula­tion.  Elle donne à chacun des logements une double orientation privilégiée, vu la hauteur du bâtiment et sa situation dans la ville. La plupart des appartements sont pourvus de terrasses extérieures et disposent de vues exceptionnelles, quelle que soit l’orientation.

A chaque étage, deux couloirs “privés”, équipés chacun d’un ascen­seur, desservent chacun deux appartements.  Ce parcours d’entrée majoritairement privatif donne à l’habitant un sentiment de sécurité qui lui permet de s’approprier plus fac­ilement l’immeuble. La tour évite cependant l’écueil de la cité-dortoir, où les habitants sautent de leur véhicule à l’ascenseur pour rejoindre directement leur lit. En effet, l’ascenseur desservant le sous-sol n’étant pas le même que celui qui mène aux étages, les habitants sont incités à se rencontrer dans le grand hall central au rez-de-chaussée.

Le bâtiment bas, quant à lui, peut être qualifié de “tour horizontale” et offre d’autres typologies de logements.  Sa faible hauteur maintient tous les appartements à proximité immédi­ate des autres points d’intérêt du projet (restaurants, es­paces verts, marché, commerces,…). Les séjours traversants, particulièrement lumineux, se prolongent par des terrasses extérieures. Comme dans la tour, l’accès aux appartements se fait par des noyaux de circulation verticale ne desservant chacun que deux appartements, renforçant ainsi le sentiment de confort et de sécurité dans les ascen­seurs et cages d’escaliers.

La structure, dessinée sur une trame de 7,20 m, est  reportée en dehors de l’aménagement intérieur des appartements, laissant une liberté complète à ce dernier.

La mise en place de toitures végétalisées intensives offre aux habitants de l’immeuble des espaces de détente privilégiés, plus calmes que les espaces verts publics. Intégrées à des jeux de niveaux permettant des communications d’un espace à l’autre, visibles du niveau du sol et des étages des bâtiments environnants, ces toitures deviennent une com­posante esthétique de l’espace public.

Micro climat - vents dominants

Actuellement, le site présente un certain inconfort à cause des tourbillons d’air générés par le resserrement des gabarits construits au droit du raccord entre la place et l’avenue de Cortenbergh.

La tour réduit cet inconfort grâce à sa double peau métallique perforée. Celle-ci réduit la vitesse du vent et offre aux logements des terrasses viables en hauteur. Au niveau du sol, les vents sont coupés par la couverture horizontale en tôle perforée disposée au sud-ouest.

Ombres portées:

L’implantation de la tour au sud de la parcelle et son orientation suivant l’axe nord-sud réduisent l’ombre portée sur les habitations voisines à une durée maximum d’1h30.  Ceci est négligeable par comparaison aux rues étroites agrémentées d’un mail végétal que l’on retrouve dans le voisinage.  Seule une partie limitée du bâtiment bas se trouve pendant une plus longue période dans l’ombre de la tour et est affectée en appart-hôtel.

Eclairement naturel:

Les façades du projet sont percées de grandes baies pour un apport en profondeur de la lu­mière naturelle dans les séjours des appartements. Pour les pièces plus intimes, comme les chambres à coucher, une double peau en tôle perforée est appli­quée à distance de la façade isolée afin de diminuer l’intensité lumineuse. Constituée de panneaux coulissants présentant un taux de perforation élevé (60 %), cette double peau ne restreint nullement la vue dégagée et lointaine qu’offrent les fenêtres.

Confort acoustique:

Entre les logements, la dalle en béton armé présente une épaisseur de 20 cm et constitue une barrière efficace contre le bruit aérien. Avant mise en place des revêtements de sol, un matelas acoustique, remonté en plinthe, assure l’isolement contre les bruits d’impact.  Les murs porteurs in­térieurs entre logements sont doublés ;  il en est de même pour les gaines, y compris les trémies d’ascenseur. L’absence de clapets de ventilation intégrés aux châssis et la bonne étanchéité à l’air sont des atouts complémentaires.

Crédits:

Architecture and Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing
Structural Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (sister company 2007-2015) if not mentioned
Services engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with FTI (sister company since 1989) if not mentioned

01-594 JAMBLINNE DE MEUX – ENSEMBLE DE LOGEMENTS POUR AG REAL ESTATE
Architecture Design Partners: Dr Ir Philippe Samyn architecte, avec Bernard Van Damme architecte.
Administrative Partner: Jacques CEYSSENS
Collaborateurs: Antoine COLBACK, Yajun CHEN
Techniques spéciales: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, avec FLOW TRANSFER INTERNATIONAL sa Rue du Ham, 137 1180 Bruxelles, Belgique Tel. : +32 2 375 75 40 E-mail: info@fti-sa.be
Stabilité: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, avec JAN MEIJER sprl Gemzenstraat, 32a 2610 Wilrijk, Belgique Tel.: +32 2 448 25 00 E-mail: info@meijer.be
Physique du bâtiment et énergie: DAIDALOS PEUTZ bvba Dr Ir Filip DESCAMPS Vital Decosterstraat 67A bus 1, 3000 Leuven, Belgique Tel. +32 16 35 32 77 E-mail info@daidalospeutz.be
Urbanisme: Bureau AGORA sa Serge PEETERS Rue Montagne aux Anges, 26 1081 Bruxelles, Belgique Tel. : +32 2 779 13 55 E-mail : agora@agora-urba.beGestion des coûts :Bureau Michel FORGUE sarl Michel FORGUE, Elie DURAND Route de Charavines, 250 38140 Le Rivier d’Apprieu, France Tel. : +33 4 76 65 19 34 E-mail : bureau@bmforgue.fr
Gestion des coûts : Bureau Michel FORGUE sarl Michel FORGUE, Elie DURAND Route de Charavines, 250 38140 Le Rivier d’Apprieu, France Tel. : +33 4 76 65 19 34 E-mail : bureau@bmforgue.fr

DOCUMENTATION
Management : Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (André CHARON and Quentin OLBRECHTS)

24,000 m²; 2012 ; (01/594).

En collaboration avec BEAI.

Dessins:
Rendus:

 


Pour les sections de plans et d’élévations, veuillez vous référer à la section archives du site disponible dans le menu “références”

594-JAMBLINNE DE MEUX - ENSEMBLE DE LOGEMENTS POUR AG REAL ESTATEFilippo Aimo

594-JAMBLINNE DE MEUX – HIGH DENSITY HOUSING FOR AG REAL ESTATE

Place de Jamblinne de Meux, Brussels, Belgium

24,000 m²; 2012 ; (01/594).

Services Performed:
  • Landscaping
  • Architecture
  • Interior fit-out
  • Structural engineering
  • Building services engineering
  • Project management
  • Cost control
Description:

 2012-12-14

A restricted ideas competition is launched by AG Real Estate for the residential redevelopment of a parcel that overlooks the square de Jamblinne de Meux. The proposition for this plot, which now includes an existing office building and a park, has to include 24,000 m² of housing, taking into account the architectural, urban and landscape aspects of the site.

Document E41_01/594- En Issue of 2012-12-14

The site:

The Place de Jamblinne de Meux occupies a strategic position in the city, near the European quarter and at the crossroads of structuring axes; its town planning is not however in keeping with its status. In this way, in particular, the existing building unfortunately separates the two parts of the public space, the square and the park.

The proposal seeks to demolish the existing office building to reunify the public space into a large “park” which leads to a tower and a low rise appartment building. The access ramp of the Avenue de Cortenbergh tunnel is being moved, the sidewalks are removed and the park area now enjoys a more peaceful living setting, in keeping with its position on the regional green belt. The 19th century urban axis, which currently joins Square Marie-Louise and Square Ambiorix, will cross the new Square des Patriotes (former Place des Gueux), to blossom in the new Parc de Jamblinne de Meux.

Basement:

Due to a desire for economy, the basement of the demolished building is preserved. It is organised into a multi-purpose space: car park, private cellars, nightclub and even storm water basin. In the same spirit, the tower does not have any underground levels; these are placed under the long podium block. They house a public car park with 70 spaces per level. The dissociation of the car park access from that of the residences increases the exchanges between the inhabitants of the building and enriches the social fabric.

The basements also house the storage areas of shops established on the surface and the necessary technical areas for the proper functioning of the new complex.

Public space:

Parc de Jamblinne de Meux now extends up to the foot of the new tower, it surrounds it, then extends to the street and the Square des Patriotes. The link between the various public spaces is strengthened by the transparency and opening of the ground floors.

This continuity of the public space literally ‘absorbs’ the tower in its environment, in the manner of a church in front of its parvis. It is here that various activities and events, for example a market behind the tower, local shops under the horizontal building, collective services and equipment, access to underground car parks etc., can be found.

The park as such is set up and managed like a semi-public garden. It is bordered by a covered gallery which leads to the terrace of a pavilion restaurant, whose main façade frames the prospect of the Square des Patriotes.

The public space is materialised on the ground level by a single material, which stretches without interruption from façade to façade. A new urban ‘mini forest’ creates here a ‘green sky’ and the remarkable trees of the site are of course being preserved.

Plan typology of the fower and the low rise appartment building:

The tower, around 30 floors high and of a strictly rectangular shape, is served by a central stair/lift core. It gives each of the residences a privileged double orientation, given the height of the building and its location in the city. The majority of apartments are provided with external terraces and have exceptional views, regardless of the orientation.

On each floor, two ‘private’ corridors, each equipped with a lift, each serve two apartments. This mainly private entry route gives the occupier a sense of security which allows him to take up the building more easily. The tower does however avoid the pitfall of the dormitory suburb, where inhabitants leap from their vehicles into the lift to go straight to bed. Indeed, as the lift that serves the basement is not the same one as that which leads to the upper floors, the inhabitants are led to meet each other in the large central entrance hall on the ground floor.

The podium block, for its part, may be termed a ‘horizontal tower’ and offers other housing typologies. Its low height keeps all the apartments in the immediate vicinity of other points of interest of the project (restaurants, green spaces, market, shops etc.). The through lounges, particularly well lit, are extended by external terraces. As in the tower, the access to the apartments takes place via vertical stair/lift cores which each serve only two apartments, thereby increasing the feeling of comfort and security in the lifts and stairwells.

The structure, drawn over a frame of 7.20 m, is taken outside the interior layout of the apartments, leaving full freedom in said layout.

The putting in place of intensive planted roofs offers the residents of the building privileged relaxation spaces, calmer than green public spaces. Integrated with play on levels that allows for communication from one space to another, visible from ground level and from the floors of the surrounding buildings, these roofs are becoming an aesthetic component of the public space.

Micro-climate - Prevailing winds:

Currently, the site presents a certain discomfort due to gusts of wind generated by the restriction of the sizes constructed at the point of connection between the square and the Avenue de Cortenbergh.

The tower reduces this discomfort thanks to its perforated double metal skin. This reduces the wind speed and offers the residences terraces that are viable in height. On ground floor level, the winds are cut off by the horizontal perforated sheet metal cover provided to the south-west.

Shadows cast:

The installation of the tower to the south of the plot and its orientation following the North-South axis reduce the shadow cast on the neighbouring residences to a maximum duration of 1 hr 30. This is negligible by comparison to the narrow roads embellished with greenery that are found in the neighbourhood. Only a limited part of the podium block is situated for a longer period in the shadow of the tower and is affected in the apart-hotel.

Natural lighting:

The façades of the project are interspersed with large bays for a deep supply of natural light in the lounges of the apartments. For the more intimate rooms, such as the bedrooms, a double skin in perforated sheet metal is applied at a distance from the insulated façade so as to reduce the intensity of the light. Made up of sliding panels with a high level of perforation (60 %), this double skin does not in any way restrict the clear and faraway view offered by the windows.

Acoustic comfort:

Between the residences, the reinforced concrete slab presents a thickness of 20 cm and forms an effective barrier against airborne sounds. Before the placement of floor coverings, an acoustic mattress, raised in a plinth, ensures insulation against impact noise. The internal load-bearing walls between the residences are double; the same goes for the ducts, including the lift cavities. The absence of ventilation valves integrated into the chassises and the good airtightness are additional assets.

Credits:

Architecture and Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing
Structural Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (sister company 2007-2015) if not mentioned
Services engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with FTI (sister company since 1989) if not mentioned

01-594 JAMBLINNE DE MEUX – ENSEMBLE DE LOGEMENTS POUR AG REAL ESTATE
Architecture Design Partners: Dr Ir Philippe Samyn architecte, avec Bernard Van Damme architecte.
Administrative Partner: Jacques CEYSSENS
Collaborateurs: Antoine COLBACK, Yajun CHEN
Techniques spéciales: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers,
avec FLOW TRANSFER INTERNATIONAL sa
Rue du Ham, 137
1180 Bruxelles, Belgique
Tel. : +32 2 375 75 40
E-mail: info@fti-sa.be
Stabilité: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers,
avec JAN MEIJER sprl
Gemzenstraat, 32a
2610 Wilrijk, Belgique
Tel.: +32 2 448 25 00
E-mail: info@meijer.be
Physique du bâtiment et énergie: DAIDALOS PEUTZ bvba
Dr Ir Filip DESCAMPS
Vital Decosterstraat 67A bus 1,
3000 Leuven, Belgique
Tel. +32 16 35 32 77
E-mail info@daidalospeutz.be
Urbanisme: Bureau AGORA sa
Serge PEETERS
Rue Montagne aux Anges, 26
1081 Bruxelles, Belgique
Tel. : +32 2 779 13 55
E-mail : agora@agora-urba.beGestion des coûts :Bureau Michel FORGUE sarl
Michel FORGUE, Elie DURAND
Route de Charavines, 250
38140 Le Rivier d’Apprieu, France
Tel. : +33 4 76 65 19 34
E-mail : bureau@bmforgue.fr
Gestion des coûts : Bureau Michel FORGUE sarl
Michel FORGUE, Elie DURAND
Route de Charavines, 250
38140 Le Rivier d’Apprieu, France
Tel. : +33 4 76 65 19 34
E-mail : bureau@bmforgue.fr


DOCUMENTATION

Management : Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (André CHARON and Quentin OLBRECHTS)

24,000 m²; 2012 ; (01/594).

In collaboration with BEAI.

Drawings
Renderings

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

594-JAMBLINNE DE MEUX - HIGH DENSITY HOUSING FOR AG REAL ESTATEFilippo Aimo