586-VERRIERE POUR LE SIEGE DE LA BANQUE NATIONALE DE BELGIQUE

Boulevard de Berlaimont, Bruxelles, Belgique

(2012); (01-586). Concours sur invitation. 

Services effectués :
  • Architecture.
  • Architecture d’intérieur.
  • Structure.
  • Techniques spéciales.
  • Economie du projet.
Description :

La question

Erigé entre 1948 et 1957 par l’architecte Marcel Van Goethem et complété d’un sixième étage en 1965, le siège de la Banque Nationale de Belgique (BNB) est typique des bâtiments de l’après-guerre.

Le bâtiment se développe autour de deux patios centraux étroits (16 m) et très longs (2 x 82 m), dont la partie inférieure constitue l’immense salle des guichets, aujourd’hui inutilisée.  Cette salle est couverte à hauteur du deuxième étage par un plafond translucide cintré que surmonte une verrière.

La BNB souhaite remplacer cette dernière et couvrir les deux patios par deux verrières hautes ventilées.  L’objectif poursuivi est d’améliorer la convivialité de l’immeuble et d’augmenter ses performances environnementales tout en maintenant les éléments architecturaux de valeur, essentiellement  le plafond de la salle des guichets et les fenêtres donnant sur les patios. 

Le projet

Le projet propose un atrium convivial, accessible au niveau +2 par les membres du personnel et comprenant, aux étages, des lieux de convivialité disposés aux extrémités des patios, d’où l’on bénéficie de longues perspectives sur ceux-ci. Une efficacité énergétique maximum est obtenue au moindre coût.  grâce à une verrière ultra-légère et à l’isolation des façades.  La salle des guichets, quant à elle, reste visuellement et fonctionnellement indépendante du restant de la vie de l’immeuble.

La verrière ultra-légère

La recherche de convivialité dans l’atrium nécessite qu’il soit protégé en partie supérieure par une couverture qui assume simultanément  les fonctions de pare-pluie, de pare-soleil et de pare-vent.  Elle doit également être la plus transparente possible pour ne pas réduire l’éclairement dans les surfaces de bureaux.  Une verrière “normale” (vitrage double sur structure métallique) présenterait plusieurs aspects négatifs :

–  la fragilité naturelle du verre impliquerait la mise en œuvre d’une quantité importante de matière pour garantir une rigidité suffisante de la structure,

–  les exigences de sécurité et d’isolation imposeraient le recours à un vitrage de forte épaisseur (par exemple une couche trempée de 12 mm et une couche feuilletée de 2 x 8 mm, soit ± 70 kg/m²),

–  la combinaison des deux points précédents ferait que le poids exercé sur la structure des parois latérales de l’atrium serait important,

–  la double ou triple épaisseur de vitrage entraînerait une perte significative de luminosité, de l’ordre de 50 %, voire plus,

–  le verre amplifierait le bruit de la pluie,

–  la réflexion acoustique sur le verre amplifierait le niveau de bruit à l’intérieur de l’atrium,

–  le nettoyage de la face inférieure du verre requerrait une installation lourde, car elle devrait être mobile et indépendante de la structure.

Le projet prend le contre-pied de l’approche “traditionnelle” par la recherche poussée à l’extrême de l’économie de matière, sous la forme d’une fermeture en membrane fluoroplastique transparente (ETFE ou PTFE), marchable, tendue sur une structure flexible faite de câbles en para-aramide protégés contre le rayonnement UV.  Cette technologie est récente mais déjà éprouvée.

L’ensemble de la structure est très majoritairement tendue (“des îlots de compression dans un océan de traction”), donc de très faible section (les plus gros câbles ont un diamètre de 16 mm seulement).   Cet encombrement extrêmement réduit de la structure, associé à la grande transparence de la membrane conduit à une transmission lumineuse très élevée.  Si l’on tient encore compte de l’encombrement du filet tendu sous la membrane pour permettre son nettoyage, la transmission lumineuse totale atteint 82,6 %.  Par comparaison, une verrière conventionnelle équipée de vitrage extra-clair ne peut atteindre, au mieux, qu’un coefficient maximum de 0,60

L’efficacité acoustique de cette membrane est aussi remarquable, en ce sens qu’elle est “transparente” au son généré dans l’atrium et qu’elle amortit le bruit de la pluie.

La sécurité incendie est assurée par la “disparition” de la membrane, rendant inutile tout système de désenfumage mécanique.  Pour ce faire, un fil chauffant est intégré à chaque module de membrane.  Ce fil est mis sous tension électrique lors de l’activation de la détection de fumée, ce qui a pour effet de couper la membrane sur sa longueur et de la faire s’ouvrir complètement.  La détection est placée environ 3 m sous la membrane pour éviter tout déclenchement intempestif.  Les fenêtres du 6ème étage doivent être munies de vitrage trempé thermiquement afin de résister aux fumées, jusqu’à une température de 200°C. 

Pour maintenir une température vivable dans l’atrium en été, une protection solaire s’avère indispensable, sous la forme d’un velum enroulable et coulissant sur des câbles tendus entre les deux façades.

Le plancher de l’atrium

La structure portante du plancher doit être aussi légère que possible pour ne pas porter d’ombre dans la salle des guichets sous-jacente.  Des arcs surbaissés en treillis métallique s’appuient sur les murs de façades et portent un plancher translucide en verre feuilleté antidérapant.  La pente du sol ne dépasse pas 5 % et la verrière devient un plancher circulable, faisant de  l’atrium un espace convivial à l’usage de tous les utilisateurs.

La ventilation

La ventilation d’été de l’atrium s’effectue par l’ouverture des ventelles vitrées disposées en périphérie de la couverture.  L’air frais venant du sous-sol est admis dans l’atrium par les gaines existantes aux coins des patios, débouchant actuellement à l’air libre. 

Les façades aux étages

Les études thermiques réalisées imposent que les façades soient isolées thermiquement et phoniquement.  Pour maximaliser la réflexion lumineuse, les surfaces sont de teinte claire.

Le végétal dans l’atrium

Aux étages, les pignons des patios, dépourvus d’intérêt aujourd’hui, reçoivent des espaces de convivialité et sont rehaussés de plantations. Ceci a un effet positif direct sur l’absorption acoustique, le climat intérieur (apport d’humidité et d’oxygène), l’empoussièrement dans l’atrium, les couleurs et les odeurs.  Le mur végétal est prolongé au-dessus de la verrière et masque les machines frigorifiques installées en toiture.

Crédits :

Architecture and Engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing

Structural Engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (2007-2015) if not mentioned

Services engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS
with FTI (sister company since 1989)
if not mentioned


01-586
 
Client: Banque Nationale de Belgique – Nationale Bank van België
Architecture: Design Partner: Philippe SAMYN
Administrative Partner: Denis MÉLOTTE
Collaborators: Jacques CEYSSENS, Simon TOURBACH
Structure: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) with Ingenieursbureau MEIJER sprl (Jan MEIJER)
Services: Building services: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) with Flow Transfer International (Andrew JANSSENS)
Building physics: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) with DAIDALOS PEUTZ (Filip DESCAMPS)

LOCALISATION
Boulevard de Berlaimont, Bruxelles

POUVOIR ADJUDICATAIRE
Banque Nationale de Belgique – Nationale Bank van België Boulevard de Berlaimont, 141000 Bruxelles

ARCHITECTES & INGENIEURS
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architectes & ingénieurs Philippe SAMYN
Chaussée de Waterloo, 1537 B-1180 BRUXELLES Propriétaire exclusif des droits d’auteur (copyright)
tél. + 32 2 374 90 60 fax + 32 2 374 75 50
E-mail : sai@samynandpartners.be
www.samynandpartners.be

Architecture
Design Partner:
Philippe SAMYN
Administrative Partner : Denis MÉLOTTE

Collaborateurs:
Jacques CEYSSENS, Simon TOURBACH

Stabilité :Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) avec Ingenieursbureau MEIJER sprl (Jan MEIJER)

Techniques spéciales:Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) avec Flow Transfer International (Andrew JANSSENS)

Physique du bâtiment : Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) avec DAIDALOS PEUTZ (Filip DESCAMPS)

Surface de la verrière : 2.720 m² ;  surface de l’atrium : 2.340 m².

Document E41_01/586 -Fr Édition du 2012-09-21

Rendus
Dessins
Croquis

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

586-VERRIERE POUR LE SIEGE DE LA BANQUE NATIONALE DE BELGIQUEFilippo Aimo

586-Glass roof for the head office of the National Bank of Belgium

Boulevard de Berlaimont
Brussels
BELGIUM

(2012); (01-586).
Invited competition entry; preliminary design

Services Performed:

– Architecture
– Conceptual energy plan
– Daylighting
– Interior design
– Structural engineering
– Building services engineering

The question:

Built between 1948 and 1957 by architect Marcel Van Goethem and completed with a sixth floor in 1965, the head office of the National Bank of Belgium (NBB) is typical of post-war buildings.
The building is developed around two narrow (16m) and very long (2 x 82 m) central patios, with the lower part making up the immense ticket hall, today unused.  This hall is covered on the second floor by a translucent vaulted ceiling with a glass roof just above it.
The NBB wants to replace this glass roof and cover the two patios with two high ventilated glass roofs.  The aim pursued is to improve the user-friendliness of the building and to increase its environmental performance whilst maintaining the architectural elements of value, essentially the ceiling of the ticket hall and the windows opening onto the patios.

The project:

The project proposes a user-friendly atrium, accessible on level +2 by staff members and including, on the upper floors, pleasant areas laid out on the ends of the patios, from where you have a long view on them. Maximum energy efficiency is obtained at the lowest possible cost thanks to an ultra-light glass roof and the insulation of the façades.  The ticket hall, for its part, remains visually and functionally independent from the rest of the life of the building.

The ultra-light glass roof:

The striving for user-friendliness in the atrium requires it to be protected in the upper part by a cover which simultaneously takes on the functions of rain-block, sun shading and wind block.  It must also be as transparent as possible so as not to reduce the illuminance in the office areas.  A ‘normal’ glass roof (double glazing over a metallic structure) would present several negative aspects:

  • the natural fragility of glass would involve the putting in place of a large quantity of material to guarantee sufficient rigidity for the structure,
  • safety and insulation requirements would dictate recourse to glazing with a high thickness (for example a soaked layer of 12 mm and a laminated layer of 2 x 8 mm, i.e. approx. 70 kg/m²),
  • the combination of the two previous points would mean that the weight exerted on the structure of the side walls of the atrium would be substantial,
  • the double or triple thickness of glazing would lead to a substantial loss of luminosity, of around 50 % or higher,
  • the glass would amplify the noise of the rain,
  • the sound reflection on the glass would amplify the noise level on the inside of the atrium,
  • cleaning of the inner face of the glass would require a heavy installation, as it would need to be mobile and independent from the structure.

The project would take the opposite angle to the ‘traditional’ approach through an extremely heavy striving for material economy, in the form of a seal in transparent fluoroplastic membrane (ETFE or PTFE), which is walkable, stretched over a flexible structure made of para-aramid cables protected against UV radiation.  This technology is recent but already proven.
The entire structure is very largely stretched (“compression islands in an ocean of traction”), meaning that it has a very short section (the widest cables have a diameter of only 16 mm).   This extremely low level of clutter on the part of the structure, combined with the high transparency of the membrane, leads to a very high light transmittance.  If we take into account the obstruction from the net stretched under the membrane to allow its cleaning, total light transmittance reaches 82.6 %.  By way of comparison, a conventional glass roof fitted with extra-clear glass could only achieve – at best – a maximum coefficient of 0.60.
The acoustic efficiency of this membrane is also remarkable, in that it is ‘transparent’ to the sound generated in the atrium and softens the noise of the rain.
Fire safety is assured through the ‘disappearance’ of the membrane, which renders unnecessary any mechanical smoke extraction system.  In order to do this, a spark plug wire is integrated into each membrane module.  This wire is set to live on activation of the smoke detection, which has the effect of cutting the membrane over its length and making it fully open.  Detection is placed around 3 m beneath the membrane to avoid any untimely triggering.  The 4th floor windows must be fitted with thermally soaked glazing so as to resist smoke, up to a temperature of 200°C.
To keep a liveable temperature in the atrium in summer, solar protection proves invaluable, in the form of a roll-up and sliding velum over cables stretched between the two façades.

The atrium floor:

The carrying structure of the floor must be as light as possible so as not to cast a shadow in the underlying ticket hall.  Segmented arches in metal trellises lean on the façade walls and carry a non-skid translucent glass floor.  The slope of the floor must not exceed 5% and the glass roof becomes a circulable floor, making the atrium a user-friendly area for use by all.

Ventilation:

The summer ventilation of the atrium takes place through the opening of the glazed louvers arranged around the periphery of the cover.  The fresh air coming from the basement is admitted into the atrium via the existing ducts in the corners of the patios, currently opening onto fresh air.

The façades on the upper floors:

The thermal studies carried out dictate that the façades must be given heat and sound proofing.  To maximise the light reflection, the surfaces are of a light shade.

The plants in the atrium:

On the upper floors, the gables of the patios, now without interest, receive aesthetically pleasant areas and are embellished with plantations. This has a direct positive effect on acoustic absorption, the indoor climate (provision of humidity and oxygen), dust accumulation in the atrium, colours and odours.  The wall of greenery continues above the glass roof and covers up the refrigeration machinery installed in the roofing.

Credits:

Architecture and Engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing

Structural Engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (sister company 2007-2015) if not mentioned

Services engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS
with FTI (sister company since 1989)
if not mentioned


01-586
 
Client: Banque Nationale de Belgique – Nationale Bank van België
Architecture: Design Partner: Philippe SAMYN
Administrative Partner: Denis MÉLOTTE
Collaborators: Jacques CEYSSENS, Simon TOURBACH
Structure: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) with Ingenieursbureau MEIJER sprl (Jan MEIJER)
Services: Building services: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) with Flow Transfer International (Andrew JANSSENS)
Building physics: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Dr Ir Philippe SAMYN, Ir Arch. Denis MÉLOTTE) with DAIDALOS PEUTZ (Filip DESCAMPS)

Surface area of the glass roof: 2,720 m²; surface area of the atrium: 2,340 m².

Document E41_01/586 -En Issue of 2012-10-22

Renderings
Drawings
Sketches

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

586-Glass roof for the head office of the National Bank of BelgiumFilippo Aimo