497-TOTAL BELGIUM S.A. – STATION-SERVICES – AIRE DE SPY

Autoroute E42, Liège – Mons, Jemeppe-sur-Sambre (Belgique)

Surface des  bâtiments : 2.283 m², surface de la  passerelle : 372 m² et surface du terrain (aires Nord et Sud) : 67.223 m² ; 2005 – 2010 ; (01/497).

Services effectués :

• Architecture.
• Architecture d’intérieur.
• Ingénierie des structures.
• Ingénierie des techniques spéciales.
• Concepts énergétiques et de haute qualité environnementale.
• Gestion du projet.
• Gestion des coûts.

Description :

Le projet s’attache à concilier la conduite avec le goût du voyage,  le monde autoroutier avec l’environnement, la sécurité avec le confort, l’utile à l’agréable.  Il veut être comme un voilier sur la mer, une fleur dans un champ, un planeur dans le ciel ou encore une musique que l’on entend dans sa voiture ou son camion.

La compacité du projet a pour but de maximaliser les surfaces vertes, de minimiser les surfaces asphaltées et d’optimiser la fonctionnalité de la station.

Dans un souci de fluidité, d’harmonie et aussi d’efficacité, la composition formelle et l’organisation fonctionnelle de la station se structurent en spirale autour du centre de la station qui est matérialisé par le patio d’entrée du bâtiment.  Il est un point de ralliement et de rencontre pour toute l’aire. 

Autour de ce lieu central se déploient les toitures comme des ailes  ou des dômes en toile de PVC blanche sur une structure en bois blond lamellé collé.  Ils signalent la station depuis l’autoroute.  Les différentes ailes couvrent un unique bâtiment pavillonnaire qui regroupe les services de la station. Chacune des ailes signale cependant un groupe spécifique de services du bâtiment et de la station : les pompes se situent sous l’auvent principal, l’entrée sous  l’auvent le plus petit, la boutique et ses services sous l’auvent arrière parallèle à celui des pompes et le restaurant sous l’auvent en forme de dôme. Ces ailes ou dômes en toile, qui s’illuminent la nuit, offrent un signal visible et reconnaissable.  Une passerelle avec une structure en bois et en métal, et avec une toiture en toile de  PVC offre un élément de ralliement visuel entre les deux stations, à la manière d’un ruban entre deux cerfs-volants.

Le dessin des places de parking  en couronne autour du bâtiment  permet leur surveillance depuis le bâtiment, un regroupement concentrique des services de l’aire et  de délimiter une zone de circulation à vitesse réduite qui englobe la station.

Les voies et les services des camions et bus sont situés à l’arrière des bâtiments afin de ne pas en obstruer la vue et l’approche depuis l’autoroute et de minimiser l’impact visuel des camions et bus sur le paysage général.

Dans ce sens, les voiries et les parkings sont protégés visuellement par une colline, par des haies et par des rangées d’arbres.

La visibilité de la station depuis l’autoroute se concentre ainsi sur le bâtiment, sa toiture en forme d’ailes blanches et son écrin de végétation.

Une rangée d’arbres périphérique limite depuis la campagne avoisinante l’impact visuel de l’installation et de l’autoroute sur le paysage.

L’aménagement des zones vertes est conçu de telle façon à prolonger le paysage existant avoisinant.

Ce souci d’intégration contextuelle, paysagiste et régionale se  retrouve dans le choix des matériaux principaux dans la composition du bâtiment : la façade et la structure sont en bois du pays.

La démarche environnementale et le développement durable sont les fils conducteurs de tous les choix.

Les exemples suivants montrent certains aspects de la démarche “ Haute qualité environnementale” qui est poursuivie depuis l’étude, à la construction, au chantier, à l’exploitation, à l’entretien et jusqu’à à la démontabilité du projet en fin de concession :

  • Le projet gère en site propre la dépollution et la démolition de l’aire existante. Les terrassements s’équilibrent, les déchets des démolitions, si leur analyse le permet, sont mélangés avec de la terre arable dans une colline.
  • Toute la station est de plain pied pour une accessibilité maximale aux personnes à mobilité réduite.
  • Le tampon thermique formé par l’espace entre les toitures en toile et les bâtiments permet de réduire au maximum les gains solaires.
  • Les pompes à chaleur, les puits canadiens, les panneaux solaires, les échangeurs de chaleur, une isolation importante, des parties vitrées dosées…contribuent aux trois principes fondateurs du respect de l’environnement en matière énergétique : une réduction maximale de la consommation, une récupération maximale et une utilisation maximale de l’énergie renouvelable.
  • Dans les aménagements intérieurs, les matériaux non ou difficilement recyclables ou qui sont grands consommateurs d’énergie (comme l’aluminium, les peintures avec solvants, les revêtements mélaminés, les plaques de plâtre….) sont réduits au minimum.
  • La structure et les châssis sont en bois du pays.

La sécurité, le service, le confort des usagers et la fonctionnalité sont autant d’autres préoccupations qui ont guidé les différents choix du projet.  En voici  quelques exemples :

  • Les bus ou les voitures peuvent déposer leurs passagers juste devant l’entrée du bâtiment, sur son parvis. Celui-ci privilégie le piéton sur l’aire de la station. 
  • Des trottoirs et des passages pour piétons, sans dénivellation du sol, permettent depuis toutes les places de parking de rejoindre le bâtiment en toute sécurité.
  • La décélération des véhicules est assurée par des routes légèrement courbes et des ronds-points. Ces derniers permettent aussi aux véhicules de mieux trouver leur chemin en toute sécurité.
  • L’auvent couvre la totalité des pompes et permet aux usagers de rejoindre le patio “cœur de la station” à couvert. L’ensemble des toitures débordantes permet non seulement de se protéger de la pluie mais aussi du soleil, dans le souci d’une optimisation du confort à l’extérieur et à l’intérieur.

Les courbes que dessinent le bâtiment et ses toitures, la chaleur des matériaux comme la toile et le bois, la légèreté visuelle des façades à claire-voie de bois et des toitures à la manière des ailes de planeur contribuent avec l’ensemble des éléments du projet à créer un projet citoyen, attentif au bien-être des usagers et au respect de l’environnement.

Document E41_01/497 -Fr Édition du 2006-06-08

Crédits :

Architecture and Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing
 Structural Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (sister company 2007-2015) if not mentioned
Services engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with FTI (sister company since 1989) if not mentioned

01-497 SERVICE STATION, SPY.
Client: TOTAL.
Architecture: Design Partner: Philippe SAMYN Administrative Partner: Quentin STEYAERT Collaborators: Ghislain ANDRÉ, Carole ASPESLAGH, Julien-Pierre BUSE, Jacques CEYSSENS,  Isabelle DEMUYSER,  Ronny FICHANT, Maarten FRANSSEN, Marta GOLSZTAJN, Aleksandra IWANICKA, Catherine JANSSENS, Hayriye OZTÜRK ,  Djenabo Fonseca RANGEL, Kay VERKAIK, In collaboration with: Lahon and  Partners. Hugo LAHON, Gäetan MARTINAGE.
Structure:   Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO bvba. Philippe SAMYN, Pierre LATTEUR.
Services: Landscaping: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS Philippe SAMYN. Health and Security: SECO asbl M. Jean-Fançois GHEYSSENS. coordination: Mercomet Gilles DE HARENG technical control: SECO asbl Jean-Philippe DEPOUHON,  Philippe  HORMAN, Philippe de Mey, Claude Pimpurniaux, Jean François Minne. piping: ALPHA Geert RUYS, Michel PERSIAU. Ground decontaminator: HASKONING Kris CASTELEYN. CONSTRUCTION civil work and building enclosure: Société de travaux GALERE www.galere.be with VICTOR BUYCK STEEL CONSTRUCTIION N.V and  TIMMERS N.V for the steel construciton electricity: COLIGNON +32 8 647 77 00 FAX +32 8 647 77 11 H.V.A.C., Plumbing,: CEGELEC +32 4 23 29 60 41 FAX +32 4 384 65 33. Landscaping: Société de travaux GALERE www.galere.be BALLAST-NEDAM e.pannekoek@ ballast-Nedam.com piping: MERTENS frederik.mertens@skynet.be
Photographies :

Photos: Marie-Françoise PLISSART.
Modèles: Andrès FERNANDEZ MARCOS.

Localisation :

Surface des  bâtiments : 2.283 m², surface de la  passerelle : 372 m² et surface du terrain (aires Nord et Sud) : 67.223 m² ; 2005 – ; (01/497).

Photos
Site
Films
Modèle
Rendus
Dessins

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

497-TOTAL BELGIUM S.A. - STATION-SERVICES - AIRE DE SPYFilippo Aimo

497-Total Belgium s.a. – Service Station – Aire de Spy

Highway E42, Liège – Mons
Jemeppe-sur-Sambre
BELGIUM

Surface of the buildings : 2.283 sqm, surface of the footbridge
: 372 sqm and surface of the site (rest areas
North and South) : 67.223 sqm (2005-2008); (01-497).
Winning competition entry; At tender stage

Services Performed:
  • Architecture.
  • Conceptual energy plan.
  • Cost control.
  • Interior design.
  • Project management.
  • Special services.
  • Structural engineering.
Description:

This project has the ambition to reconcile driving with the love of travel, the world of the highway with the environment, safety with comfort – in other words, the practical with the pleasurable. As a sailboat on the sea, a flower in a field, a glider in the sky, or the music one listens to in a car or a truck.

The compactness of this project aims to maximize green spaces, minimize asphalt surfaces and to optimize the functionality of the service station.

With concern for fluidity, harmony and efficiency, the formal composition and the functional organization of the rest station is structured as a spiral surrounding the service station that is clearly marked by the entrance patio to the building. It provides a rallying and meeting place for the entire rest stop.

Around this central space are wing-shaped roofs of white PVC membranes stretched over light-colored wooden glulam structure. These distinctive forms visually signal the service station from the highway. The various wings cover a single pavilion structure that includes all the service areas of the station. Nevertheless, each wing signals a specific group of services: the fuel pumps are situated beneath the principal awning, the entrance is situated beneath the smaller of the awnings, the shop and attendant services are situated beneath the awning parallel to the fuel pumps, and the restaurant is situated beneath the dome-shaped awning. These wings and the dome in PVC membranes are brightly lit at night, thus providing a recognizable and highly visual signal. A wood and metal footbridge also covered in PVC provides a visual link between the two stations on either side of the highway—much like a cord connecting two kites.

The oval plan for the parking spaces that surround the building enable easy surveillance from the building itself, a concentric grouping of the services at the rest stop, and a clear delimitation of the reduced speed circulation area around the service station.

The roads leading to the specific service area for buses and trucks is situated at the rear of the buildings in order to avoid obstructing the view from the highway and to minimize the visual impact of these large vehicles on the general landscape.

In the same spirit, the roads and the parking area are visually concealed by a knoll, hedges and trees.

The visibility of the station from the highway is thus concentrated on the building itself, its roofs in the form of white wings and the screen of vegetation. A peripheral row of trees mitigates the visual impact of the service station and the highway from the surrounding countryside.

The landscaping of the green zones prolongs the nature of the nearby countryside.

The concern for this contextual, landscaping and regional integration is also reflected in the choice of the principal building materials: the façade and the structure are made of local wood.

Respect for the environment and its durability in time guide every choice. The following examples demonstrate specific aspects of this sustainable project from the initial planning phase, during the construction phase to its exploitation and maintenance through its eventual dismantlement when the commercial concession ends:

  • The project includes demolition and remediation of the existing site. The excavation work is carefully planned; the detritus from the demolition work, if analyses allow, are combined with tillable earth to form a hill.
  • The entire service station is situated at ground level to enable maximum accessibility for those with reduced mobility.
  • The thermal layer provided by the space between the roofs and the stretched PVC covering of the buildings reduces solar gains to a minimum.
  • The heat pumps, the Canadian wells, the solar panels, the heat exchangers, significant insulation, the carefully placed windows and glass panels contribute to the three most important environmental principles in energy conservation: maximum reduction of consumption, maximum recuperation, and maximum use of renewable energy sources.
  • With the interior design, non-recyclable or difficult-to-recycle materials or materials that use a great deal of energy (such as aluminium, solvent-based paints, melamine, plaster wall partitions…) are reduced to a strict minimum.
  • The structure and the window frames are in local wood.

Security, service, the comfort of the clients and functionality also guide various choices within this project. Here are a few examples:

  • Passengers of buses and cars can descend at the entrance to the building on the patio. This reinforces the pedestrian aspect of the rest stop environment.
  • The sidewalks and pedestrian paths are level with the parking area, which enables everyone to access the building in security.
  • The deceleration of the vehicles is ensured by gently winding roads and roundabouts. The latter also enable drivers to orient themselves with security.
  • The awning covers all the area of the fuel pumps and enables clients to access the “heart” of the service station while protected from the elements. The ensemble of the extended roofs not only protects clients from the rain, but also from the sun with the intention of optimum comfort both inside and outside.

The curves of the building and its roofs, the warmth of the materials used such as stretched PVC and wood, the visual lightness of the wooden lattice facades and the roofs that resemble the wings of a glider contribute, along with other elements of the project, to the creation of a site that is not only designed for the comfort and pleasure of the users, but is also civilly responsible and environmentally friendly. 

Document E41_01/497 -En Issue of 2006-03-14

Credits:

Architecture and Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing
 Structural Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (sister company 2007-2015) if not mentioned
Services engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with FTI (sister company since 1989) if not mentioned

01-497 SERVICE STATION, SPY.
Client: TOTAL.
Architecture: Design Partner:
Philippe SAMYN

Administrative Partner:
Quentin STEYAERT

Collaborators:
Ghislain ANDRÉ, Carole ASPESLAGH, Julien-Pierre BUSE, Jacques CEYSSENS,  Isabelle DEMUYSER,  Ronny FICHANT, Maarten FRANSSEN, Marta GOLSZTAJN, Aleksandra IWANICKA, Catherine JANSSENS, Hayriye OZTÜRK ,  Djenabo Fonseca RANGEL, Kay VERKAIK,

In collaboration with:
Lahon and  Partners.
Hugo LAHON, Gäetan MARTINAGE.

Structure:  

Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO bvba.
Philippe SAMYN, Pierre LATTEUR.

Services: Landscaping:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS
Philippe SAMYN.

Health and Security:
SECO asbl
M. Jean-Fançois GHEYSSENS.

coordination:
Mercomet
Gilles DE HARENG

technical control:
SECO asbl
Jean-Philippe DEPOUHON,  Philippe  HORMAN, Philippe de Mey, Claude Pimpurniaux, Jean François Minne.

piping:
ALPHA
Geert RUYS, Michel PERSIAU.

Ground decontaminator:
HASKONING
Kris CASTELEYN.

CONSTRUCTION

civil work and building enclosure:
Société de travaux GALERE
www.galere.be
with VICTOR BUYCK STEEL CONSTRUCTIION N.V and  TIMMERS N.V for the steel construciton

electricity:
COLIGNON
+32 8 647 77 00 FAX +32 8 647 77 11

H.V.A.C., Plumbing,:
CEGELEC
+32 4 23 29 60 41 FAX +32 4 384 65 33.

Landscaping:
Société de travaux GALERE
www.galere.be
BALLAST-NEDAM
e.pannekoek@ ballast-Nedam.com

piping:
MERTENS
frederik.mertens@skynet.be

Photographs:

Pictures: Marie-Françoise PLISSART.
Models: Andrès FERNANDEZ MARCOS.

Location:

Surface of the buildings : 2.283 sqm, surface of the footbridge : 372 sqm and surface of the site (rest areas North and South) : 67.223 sqm ; 2005 – ; (01/497).

Pictures
Site
Movies
Model
Renderings
Drawings

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

497-Total Belgium s.a. - Service Station - Aire de SpyFilippo Aimo