607-Grand Hôpital de Charleroi

Site des Viviers 6060 Gilly (Charleroi) BELGIUM

2013 ; (01/607). Appel d’offre international.
108.000 m² ; abords 17 ha.

Services effectués :
  • Environnement.
  • Paysage.
  • Urbanisme.
  • Programmation hospitalière.
  • Architecture.
  • Architecture d’intérieur.
  • Ingénierie des structures.
  • Ingénierie des techniques spéciales.
  • Assainissement du sol.
  • Concepts énergétiques et de haute qualité. environnementale.
  • Economie du projet.
  • Etude des coûts d’exploitation.
  • Coordination générale des études.
  • Coordination et planification des travaux en cas de lots séparés.
Description :

Le cadre général

Compte tenu des grands dénivelés du site, la taille du projet impose nécessairement un remodelage important du terrain, lequel doit tenir compte des incertitudes relatives à l’état sanitaire du sol.  Les informations disponibles permettent d’envisager de réaliser tous les terrassements sans évacuation de terre et sans atteindre la nappe phréatique. 

Le projet adopte la forme d’un “village hospitalier”, placé sur un vaste plateau horizontal.  Il est parfaitement orienté selon les axes cardinaux, afin de bénéficier au maximum des apports lumineux à l’est et à l’ouest, ainsi que d’une protection naturelle contre les apports solaires.  L’ensemble s’inscrit dans un grand quadrilatère. 

La fonction “hôtel” se répartit dans trois bâtiments en forme de “H” sur pilotis.  Chacun d’entre eux abrite deux unités de soins à chacun de ses cinq étages.  L’espace généreux entre les ailes gratifie les patients d’une lumière naturelle abondante et de vues agréables aussi bien vers les ondulations apaisantes du site que vers le grand panorama carolorégien.  Ce confort s’ajoute aux nombreux avantages procurés par la généralisation des chambre à un lit avec lit d’accompagnant :  intimité du patient, soutien moral apporté au patient, communication aisée entre soignants et familles, réduction du risque d’infection entre patients, réduction des transferts, taux d’occupation des chambres plus élevé suite à l’absence d’incompatibilité entre patients, réduction du besoin en salles d’examen, etc.

Les zones comprenant des arbres remarquables ou protégés (pins d’Autriche non caducs), situées principalement en zones nord et ouest du site, sont préservées et séparent les habitations riveraines du nouveau complexe.

L’architecture végétale complète la composition.  Des alignements d’arbres à haute tige guident les automobilistes entre les buttes faites des terres de réemploi et agrémentées de groupes d’arbres en arrangements de formes libres.

Cette ambiance calme est renforcée par l’orientation des vents dominants au sud-ouest, qui “chassent” loin des bâtiments le bruit des routes et autoroutes au nord et à l’est.  Le site reste un lieu de promenade de grande valeur paysagère et le sentier des Terrils (GR 412) y conserve son passage et ses points de vue.

Les circulations

Une grande rue piétonne couverte draine le village d’est en ouest.  Elle distribue, au sud, toutes les fonctions hôtelières et, au nord, la polyclinique, le hot-floor, ainsi que la zone logistique et de production. Véritable parcours urbain, elle fait transition entre des espaces d’échelles et de caractères différents : patios boisés, passerelles, esplanades, zones d’ombre ou de lumière, de repos ou de commerces, buvettes, plaine de jeux pour les enfants, etc.  Le couloir logistique souterrain qui la double assure une bonne démarcation entre flux publics et privés. 

Au nord, entre le village et l’autoroute, trois silos à voitures hors-sol offrent un total de 1.842 places de parking protégées de la pluie, éclairées et ventilées naturellement.

Les piétons accèdent à la rue couverte à partir d’une place publique située à l’est, en surplomb de la future station de métro à laquelle elle donne accès. Un sentier relie également le RAVeL à cette esplanade.  Au sud, une autre place accueille les visiteurs arrivant en voiture.  Quant aux entrées nord-ouest et sud, elles sont reliées au sentier de la Ferme et à la rue de l’Observatoire pour les piétons, les cyclistes et les services de prévention incendie.

Flexibilité de la programmation hospitalière

La profondeur de tous les bâtiments est déterminée de façon à permettre la ventilation et l’éclairage naturels de la plupart des locaux, qu’il s’agisse des unités de soins ou de la polyclinique, d’une partie du hot-floor ou de la logistique et de la production. L’impact de l’éclairage artificiel est, en effet, très important dans la balance énergétique.

La structure est conçue de manière entièrement modulaire et répétitive, en recherchant le meilleur équilibre entre portée et coût des planchers. Cette modularité garantit une grande flexibilité dans la modification du cloisonnement. Dans le phasage, l’implantation proposée réserve des zones d’extension (ou de renouvellement à long terme) au nord de la rue principale pour la polyclinique, le hot-floor et/ou la zone logistique et de production, où les travaux peuvent s’effectuer sans atteinte à l’infrastructure générale ni entrave à l’exploitation de l’existant.  Au sud, l’extension des unités de soins est également prévue pour d’autres fonctions complémentaires, sans diminution de la qualité des prospects.

La plus grande standardisation est recherchée pour les matériaux et équipements, l’agrément de vie dans les locaux dépendant d’abord de la qualité des espaces.

Le modèle hospitalier des “layers”

La répartition des fonctions dans des structures séparées et autonomes permet la gestion de cycles de vie différents pour chacune d’entre elles sans nuire à une distribution claire et différenciée des flux de circulation (patients, visiteurs, personnel, logistique).

En effet, la demande de soins, ainsi que les approches et les technologies médicales, évoluent plus vite que les capacités financières et techniques de renouvellement des infrastructures hospitalières, tandis que les moyens financiers disponibles ont globalement tendance à diminuer.  C’est pourquoi la flexibilité et l’économie doivent devenir les gènes d’un concept hospitalier en “layers”.  Dans un tel modèle, la taille et la localisation de chaque fonction sont rationnalisées en vue de permettre, au moindre coût, les transformations qu’impose l’évolution des besoins de l’institution.

La centrale d’énergie

La centrale de production d’énergies est mitoyenne au couloir logistique.  Elle se situe au centre du village, juste au sud du hot-floor, qui est le plus gros consommateur. Cette position centrale assure une optimisation des longueurs et des sections des réseaux de distribution, ainsi qu’un accès confortable à partir du couloir logistique pour le montage et le remplacement du matériel.  Le regroupement de la centrale d’énergies a comme autres avantages de pouvoir  appliquer un coefficient de simultanéité sur l’ensemble des besoins, de limiter les coûts nécessaires à la redondance des installations de production d’énergie, ainsi que d’augmenter les possibilités de récupération de chaleur et de froid entre les différents systèmes.

Les centrales de traitement d’air

Les groupes de traitement d’air sont régulièrement répartis pour limiter au strict minimum le parcours des conduits aérauliques.

Crédits :

Architecture and Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing
Structural Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (sister company 2007 – 2015) if not mentioned
Services engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with FTI (sister company since 1989) if not mentioned

01-607 GRAND HÔPITAL DE CHARLEROI
Client: Grand Hôpital de Charleroi, Rue de la Duchère, 6 at B-6060 Gilly, Charleroi, Belgium
Architecture: Legal representative “for technical and current affairs”: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers. Design Partner: Philippe Samyn. Administrative partners: Quentin STEYAERT, Denis MELOTTE. Associates: Laura BARBARITO, Ghislain ANDRE,  Manuela BELOVA,  Benedetto CALCAGNO,  Mariuca CALIN, Alejandro CHICHIZOLA, Antoine COLBACK, Thierry HENRARD, Giulia LARIZZA,  Elodie NOORBERGEN, Sonia STICCHI, Eline VANDEVENNE. Substitute representative “for technical and current affairs”: Archi-2000 sprl, architectes Partner, Manager:Philippe Verdussen Partner: Thierry Descheemaecker
Structure: Sttructural engineering: « Ingenieursbureau Meijer bvba + Bureau d’Etudes Pirnay sa », joint venture Ingenieursbureau Meijer bvba Jan MEIJER, Philippe SAMYN Bureau d’Etudes Pirnay sa Jean-Sébastien PIRNAY
Services: Urban design: Agora sa Paul PLAK, François-Xavier VAN MAELE Soil remediation: RSK Benelux bvba Noureddine EL HALIMI Hospital planning: Paul Wurth Geprolux sa and H. Limacher Partners ag Jasques MARGUE, Heinrich LIMACHER White rooms planning: Foster and Wheeler Italiana srl Marco BOLOGNINI, Paola GRISETTI Building services, MEP, Building physics and internal climate: « Felgen et Associés Engineering sa + Flow Transfer International sa + Istema nv », joint venture Felgen et Associés Engineering sa Marc JUNCKER, Pierre COIBION, Marco WEBER, Walter SCHMITZ Flow Transfer International sa Andrew JANSSENS, Philippe SAMYN, Piet DELAGAYE Istema  nv Piet DELAGAYE Cost control and operating costs study: Bureau Michel Forgue sarl Michel FORGUE, Elie DURANT Consulting on hospital processes and operating costs study: Henny van Laarhoven (Orbis Medisch en Zorgconcern) Sustainable design and operating costs study: Symbios’IN sarl Bertrand THULLIER

Rendus
Dessins

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

607-Grand Hôpital de CharleroiFilippo Aimo

607-GRAND HÔPITAL DE CHARLEROI

Hospital facility on the Viviers site in Gilly, Charleroi (Belgium)
50°25’10.48″N, 4°29’35.11″E
108.000 m² ; abords 17 ha ;  2013 ; (01/607).
Open competition

Services Performed:
  • Environement.
  • Landscaping.
  • Urban design.
  • Hospital planning.
  • Architecture
  • Interior design.
  • Structural engineering.
  • Building services engineering.
  • Sanitation of soil.
  • Conceptual energy plan and environment plan.
  • Cost control.
  • Coordination and planification of works in case of separated lots.
Description:

The site

Given the high gradients of the site, the project has to include a great restructuring of the site whilst taking in account the uncertainties linked to the sanitary state of the soil. Based on the available data, no discharge of soil nor damages to the phreatic table will be done.

The project is shaped as a ‘hospital village’ placed on a vast horizontal plateau. It is perfectly oriented according to the cardinal axis so as to ensure maximum daylight provision and a natural protection against solar rays. The overall structure is part of a large quadrilateral.

The ‘hotel’ function is shared throughout three ‘H’ shaped buildings built on piles. Each of them is composed of five levels with two care units each. The large space between the wings provides the patients with an abundant natural light and with a pleasant sight of the wide panorama of Charleroi. This comfort is yet another advantage of the general system where patients’ rooms are equipped with an extra bed for the accompanying person: intimacy for the patient, psychological support for the patient, easy communication between the nursing staff and the families, lower infection risk between patients, shortened transfers, higher attendance in bedrooms due to better patients’ compatibility, réduction du besoin en salles d’examen, etc.

The zones filled with protected varieties of trees (non deciduous pinewoods of Austria) are mainly located in the northern and western zones of the site. They are preserved and separated from the habitations of the new complex.

The vegetal architecture completes the overall composition. Lining up of high stem trees guide car drivers between the mounds of recycled soil filled with groups of free shaped trees.

This calm atmosphere is reinforced by the dominating south-eastern winds which “push away” the noises of the northern and eastern roads and highroads from the buildings. The site remains a place for promenade with a nice landscape and the Terrils path (GR 412) is preserved as well at its sightseeing points.

The circulations

A large covered walking path goes through the village from East to West. In the southern zone, it distributes all of the hotel functions and in the northern zone, the outpatient’s hospital, the hot-floor and the logistic zone. Acting as a true urban itinerary, the walking path makes the transition between spaces of different scales and types: wooden patios, footbridges, esplanades, shadowed or lightened zones, resting or shopping areas, refreshment areas, playgrounds for children, etc. The underground logistic corridor follows the exact same path and acts as dividing line between private and public flows.

In the North, between the village and the highroad, three large silos for hors-sol cars offer a total of 1 842 parking places all protected from the rain, naturally lightened and ventilated.

The pedestrians access to the covered walking path via a public place located in the East and overhanging the future metro station to which it will give access. A footpath also connects the RAVeL to this esplanade.

In the South, another zone welcomes the visitors which come by car. As for the north-western and southern entrances, they are connected to the Ferme’s footpath and to the rue de l’Observatoire for the pedestrians, cyclists and the firemen.

Flexibility of the hospital’s organization

The depth of all the buildings is calculated so as to allow natural ventilation and lightning on most premises: the care units or the outpatient’s hospital, a part of the hot-floor or of the logistics and production zones. Indeed, artificial lightning highly affects the energetic scale.

The structure is built in an entirely modular and repetitive manner whilst seeking for the best balance between the span and the costs of the floors. This modularity guarantees a great flexibilty for an eventual modification of the partition.  In the phasage, the settlement is composed of extension zones (or for renovation on a long term basis) in the northern part of the main street for the outpatient’s hospital, for the hot-floor and/or the logistic and production zone so as to allow works to be achieved with no damages for the general infrastructure and no constrain on the use of the existing buildings. In the South, the extension of the care units is also planned for complementary services to be installed without diminishing the quality of the prospects.

The highest level of standardization is sought for the materials and equipments. Indeed, the quality of life in the buildings highly depends on the quality of the spaces.

The hospital “layers” model

The division of the functions within the separated and autonomous structures allows an efficient management of the different life cycles for each structure. It also generates a clear and differentiated distribution of the flows (patients, visitors, hospital staff and logistics).

Indeed, the demand for cares as well as the medical theories and technologies, evolve faster than the financial and technical capacities of hospitals’ renovations. Financial means have a general tendency to diminish. This is why flexibility and savings shall become the genes of a hospital “layers” concept. In such a model, the size and the location of each function are rationalized so as to allow future transformations (imposed by the requirements of evolution) to be as cheap as possible.

The power house

The power house adjoins the logistic corridor. It is located in the centre of the village just down South to the hot-floor which is the biggest consumer. This central position results in an optimum lengths and sections of the distribution system as well as a comfortable access from the logistic corridor in case of the assembly and replacement of the equipment. The regroupement of the power house has other advantages such as the ability: to apply a simultaneity coefficient on the global power needs, to limit the costs implied by the recurrence of power producing equipments and to improve the possibilities for the salvage of heat and cold between the different systems.

The air-handling units

The air-handling units are regularly shared so as to limit to strict minimum the route of the air ducts.

Credits:
Architecture and Engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS
All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing
Structural Engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS
with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006)
or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER
(sister company 2007 – 2015)
if not mentioned

Services engineering:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS
with FTI (sister company since 1989)
if not mentioned


01-607 GRAND HÔPITAL DE CHARLEROI
Client: Grand Hôpital de Charleroi, Rue de la Duchère, 6 at B-6060 Gilly, Charleroi, Belgium
Architecture: Legal representative “for technical and current affairs”:

Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers.

Design Partner: Philippe Samyn.
Administrative partners: Quentin STEYAERT, Denis MELOTTE.
Associates: Laura BARBARITO, Ghislain ANDRE,  Manuela BELOVA,  Benedetto CALCAGNO,  Mariuca CALIN, Alejandro CHICHIZOLA, Antoine COLBACK, Thierry HENRARD, Giulia LARIZZA,  Elodie NOORBERGEN, Sonia STICCHI, Eline VANDEVENNE.

Substitute representative “for technical and current affairs”:

Archi-2000 sprl, architectes

Partner, Manager:Philippe Verdussen
Partner: Thierry Descheemaecker

Structure: Sttructural engineering:
« Ingenieursbureau Meijer bvba + Bureau d’Etudes Pirnay sa », joint venture

Ingenieursbureau Meijer bvba
Jan MEIJER, Philippe SAMYN

Bureau d’Etudes Pirnay sa
Jean-Sébastien PIRNAY

Services: Urban design:
Agora sa
Paul PLAK, François-Xavier VAN MAELE

Soil remediation:
RSK Benelux bvba
Noureddine EL HALIMI

Hospital planning:
Paul Wurth Geprolux sa and H. Limacher Partners ag
Jasques MARGUE, Heinrich LIMACHER

White rooms planning:
Foster and Wheeler Italiana srl
Marco BOLOGNINI, Paola GRISETTI

Building services, MEP, Building physics and internal climate:
« Felgen et Associés Engineering sa + Flow Transfer International sa + Istema nv », joint venture

Felgen et Associés Engineering sa
Marc JUNCKER, Pierre COIBION, Marco WEBER, Walter SCHMITZ

Flow Transfer International sa
Andrew JANSSENS, Philippe SAMYN, Piet DELAGAYE

Istema  nv
Piet DELAGAYE

Cost control and operating costs study:
Bureau Michel Forgue sarl
Michel FORGUE, Elie DURANT

Consulting on hospital processes and operating costs study:
Henny van Laarhoven
(Orbis Medisch en Zorgconcern)

Sustainable design and operating costs study:
Symbios’IN sarl
Bertrand THULLIER

Document E41_01/607 -En Issue of 2013-05-15

Renderings:
Drawings:

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

607-GRAND HÔPITAL DE CHARLEROIFilippo Aimo