625 – GARE DE NANTERRE LA FOLIE

Grand Paris Express, Ligne 15, Nanterre,  France
48°53’58,55”N / 2°13’40,09”E

Gare (partie SGP) : 9.682 m² ; 2015 ; (01/625)

Concours international sur invitation

Services effectués
  • Aménagement des abords
  • Aménagement paysager
  • Urbanisme
  • Architecture
  • Aménagements intérieurs
  • Ingénierie de la structure (concepts)
  • Ingénierie des techniques spéciales (concepts)
  • Physique du bâtiment
  • Concepts de haute qualité environnementale et énergétique
  • Gestion du projet
  • Economie du projet
Description

La Société du Grand Paris  veut faire évoluer la notion de station (de métro) vers celle de gare emblématique : ce glissement sémantique accompagne la reconnaissance du rôle urbain de cette gare, sa visibilité dans le quartier, sa capacité à générer autour d’elle une centralité active qui est sans conteste générée par l’ouverture au mouvement que le réseau permet.

La gare est associée à une opération connexe de l’EPADESA (l’îlot « Les Groues ») en superstructure comprenant des logements et des bureaux.

Pour la réussite du projet de gare emblématique, pour son rayonnement dans le quartier il serait dans l’absolu préférable que la conception de l’ensemble soit assurée de façon unitaire.

La répartition des maîtrises d’ouvrage conduit à la dissociation en deux démarches de conception, qui seront simplement coordonnées. C’est une difficulté, surmontable bien sûr, pour la réussite d’une gare emblématique. On peut difficilement imaginer que la gare rayonne sur le quartier si sa visibilité se limite à la hauteur du rez-de-chaussée d’un immeuble d’assez grande hauteur qui sera conçu par d’autres auteurs.

La notion de “gare augmentée” conduit à travailler la coupe sur l’ensemble gare + opération connexe, de manière à trouver une meilleure résolution de leur articulation : donner plus de générosité verticale à la gare, faciliter l’autonomie opérationnelle des deux projets pour le plus grand bénéfice de leurs maîtrises d’ouvrage respectives.

Les études préliminaires du Maître d’ouvrage viennent superposer les niveaux de superstructure de l’opération connexe sur le rez-de-chaussée occupé par la gare, obligeant à des poteaux massifs qui portent ces étages à travers les divers niveaux de la gare, obstacles à la fluidité des mouvements et des vues.

En remplaçant cette superposition par une avancée progressive des niveaux de l’opération connexe au-dessus de la gare, on peut laisser celle-ci respirer vers le haut et l’affranchir des nécessités de descente de charge de l’opération connexe : d’où l’idée d’un volume dont la coupe transversale est un triangle élevé, le dièdre. Sa face Sud est une grande façade vitrée ouvrant sur la lumière et le paysage urbain de la Défense, sa face Nord est la mitoyenneté avec l’opération connexe.

La gare devient une grande boîte à lumière, une lanterne magique, une fine structure arachnéenne qui joue dans la lumière diurne et dans l’éclairage nocturne.

Elle est mise en évidence par son vaste parvis triangulaire de 10 m de haut qui forme aussi le porche de l’opération connexe.

 

LE CONTEXTE URBAIN

L’îlot « Les Groues » forme le coeur d’un quartier en devenir, recevant dans ses entrailles une gare multimodale connectée au RER Eole.

De plan polygonal irrégulier, l’îlot s’inscrit dans un maillage dense et tout aussi irrégulier d’îlots bâtis et d’espaces publics piétons, incluant aussi les deux passerelles au-dessus des voies Eole, le balcon et la place du Marché.

Le rez-de-chaussée de l’îlot doit donc présenter une grande perméabilité et une offre commerciale variée, dopée par la présence de la place du Marché sur son flanc Est. Le hall transversal de la gare est accessible par le parvis Nord et le balcon du Sud, accentuant cette perméabilité.

Un long dièdre vitré couvre la gare sur toute la longueur Sud de l’îlot et adosse le grand volume monolithique et poreux de l’opération connexe.

Le dièdre est équipé de quatre prises de lumière et d’air frais sur sa face Nord, lesquelles sont des plus bénéfiques pour la gestion tant sensorielle qu’énergétique de la gare.

Pour les étages en superstructure au-dessus du vaste rez-de-chaussée commercial, un ensemble de bâtiments minces ± perpendiculaires aux voies est suggéré avec des façades orientées Est-Ouest.

Cette disposition évite les vues “ingrates” sur le champ des voies Eole et ouvre l’îlot sur la rue de la Garenne, ensoleillant ainsi l’espace public au Nord. Elle privilégie également la simplicité et l’économie structurelles. Néanmoins, le parti du dièdre offre à l’EPADESA une totale autonomie pour son développement.


LA GARE

Le grand hall transversal de la gare est situé à l’Ouest du dièdre et dans son axe. Au Nord, on y accède directement par le parvis, dans l’ouverture visuelle de la rue de Lens et du Cours des Groues, au coin de la rue de la Garenne et du franchissement Hébert. Couvert par l’opération connexe, l’espace triangulaire et haut de trois niveaux du parvis se prolonge en balcon au Sud par une brasserie-terrasse, au-dessus des “points multiservices” et autres “espace voyageurs”, offrant aussi une vue sur le cœur de la

gare. On accède aussi directement au Hall par le Sud à partir du balcon et de la passerelle “Eole”.

C’est de ce grand hall, passé la ligne de contrôle, que l’on accède aux circulations verticales (escaliers mécaniques, escaliers et ascenseurs), concentrés à l’extrême Ouest dans l’axe du dièdre et menant au niveau de transfert (-14,40 m). Cette concentration offre non seulement une circulation claire et baignée de lumière naturelle, mais aussi, tant au niveau du hall (0,00 m) que du palier intermédiaire (-7,20 m), des vues perspectives sur toute la gare jusqu’aux quais au niveau -24,16 m.

Le niveau de transfert (-14,40 m), avec ses connections à la future gare Verte-Orange et au réseau Eole, est aussi baigné de lumière naturelle et offre de larges vues vers les quais au niveau -24,16 m ; le jardin Sud (au niveau -14,4 m, qui s’étend sous une passerelle avec auvent ; les quatre petits jardins au Nord, au fond des puits de lumière et de ventilation naturelle.

Escaliers et escaliers mécaniques s’y déploient avec décontraction dans de vastes ouvertures pour atterrir délicatement sur les quais.

C’est à nouveau une sensation d’espace et de bien-être, de “fraîcheur”, qui prévaut sur les larges quais, libres de toutes colonnes, baignés de lumière et ventilés naturellement au niveau -24,16 m.

Le “tube” des trains y est dessiné avec son plafond à 5,4 m au dessus des quais, laissant un volume ouvert de l’ordre de 3,7 m de hauteur entre le miroir d’eau qui le couvre et la sous-face (acier miroir perforé acoustique) du plancher au niveau -14,4 m.

Les façades des quais présentent donc une hauteur de 5,9 m dont 2,5 m pour les portes et parois vitrées d’accès aux trains et 3,4 m pour l’imposte qui la surplombe en continu. Les images du projet représentent cette imposte en miroir, toujours pour réfléchir la lumière naturelle. Elles illustrent la proposition de “dilater” l’espace au maximum.

Crédits

MAÎTRE D’OUVRAGE
Société du Grand Paris, Immeuble « le Cezanne », 30 av. des Fruitiers, 93200 St Denis, France

ARCHITECTES & INGÉNIEURS
Philippe Samyn
Propriétaire  exclusif des droits d’auteur (copyright)

Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers         
Chaussée de Waterloo, 1537   B-1180 Bruxelles

Tél. + 32 2 374  90 60       Fax + 32 2 374 75 50
E-mail: sai@samynandpartners.com,

mandataire, en charge de l’Architecture, de la Gestion des flux, des Concept structuraux et techniques (en coordination avec la MOE Génie civil et Systèmes), de la Construction durable, de l’Urbanisme (avec AGORA), du Paysage (avec AGORA), de l’Architecture d’intérieur  et de la Coordination interne du groupement,

l’équipe regroupe en co-traitance, les architectes spécialisés, les bureaux d’études spécialisé et les experts :

–     Paul ANDREU Architecte Paris sas (Paris) (PAAP), architecte conseil ;
–     A’PMD (La Chapelle sous Brancion) ,  Pierre-Michel Delpeuch, architecte ingénieur spécialisé en Architecture, Urbanisme, Aménagement des territoires des projets d’infrastructure de transport, Gestion des flux ;
–     Bureau MICHEL FORGUE sarl (Paris), pour la compétence en Economie de la Construction ;
–     PEUTZ & ASSOCIES sarl (Paris), pour la compétence en Acoustique ;
–     MAGIC MONKEY sprl (Bruxelles), pour la compétence en Eclairage ;
–     AGORA sa (Bruxelles), pour  la compétence en Urbanisme et Paysage ;
–     CITAE sas (Montigny-le-Brotonneux), pour la compétence en Sécurité Incendie et la compétence en Accessibilité;
–     ROBRECHTS & THIENPONT cvba (Turnhout), pour la compétence en Sûreté.

 

ÉQUIPE
Architecture:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl (Bruxelles)

Design Partner:
Dr Ir Philippe Samyn

Administrative Partners:
Quentin Steyaert (Chef de projet), Benedetto CALCAGNO

Collaborateurs:
Ghislain ANDRE, Giuseppe CARDILLO, Åsa DECORTE, Elista GESHEVA, David GUILLEMAUD, Roser IGUAL, Camille JACOBS, Benoit LACASSAGNE, Denis MELOTTE, Quentin OLBRECHTS, Vlad POPA, Antonio QUINONES, Paolo RUARO, Giulia VENTRE

Architecte conseil:
PAAP sas (Paris) :  Paul ANDREU, Daniel GRAIGNIC

Directeur de projet:
A’PMD (La Chapelle sous Brancion) :  Pierre-Michel Delpeuch                   

 

Concepts Techniques           
Spéciales:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, Dr Ir Philippe Samyn

Concepts Stabilité:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, Dr Ir Philippe Samyn                                    

Concepts Physique du bâtiment et énergie:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, Dr Ir Philippe Samyn

Gestion des coûts:
Bureau Michel FORGUE sarl (Paris, Lyon), Michel Forgue, Céline ZACCARO

Acoustique:
PEUTZ & ASSOCIES sarl (Paris), Stephane MERCIER, Ir. Jean-Batiste BODIN

Sûreté:
ROBRECHTS & THIENPONT cvba (Turnhout, Belgique), Paul ROBRECHTS, Marc THIENPONT                                                

Eclairage:
MAGIC MONKEY  sprl (Bruxelles), Daphné DELBEKE, Marc LARGENT

Urbanisme et Paysage:
AGORA sa (Bruxelles), Ir. Paul PLAK, François-Xavier VAN MAELE, Pierre LORAND                                               

Sécurité Incendie:
CITAE sas (Montigny-le-Brotonneux), Grégory BOURDIN, Philippe AUROUSSEAU

Accessibilité:           
CITAE sas (Montigny-le-Brotonneux), Remy LARGEMAIN, Justine BOIRAL,  Coline PROMPT

DOCUMENTATION

Gestion documentation        :            Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Andrés CHARON et Quentin OLBRECHTS)
Images de synthèse                :            Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (Vlad POPA )

Rendus
Plans
625 - GARE DE NANTERRE LA FOLIEsamyn

625 – NANTERRE LA FOLIE STATION

Grand Paris Express, Line 15, Nanterre, France
48°53’58.55”N / 2°13’40.09”E

Station (SGP part): 9,682 m²; 2015; (01/625)

International invited competition

Tasks performed
  • Development of the surrounding area
  • Landscaping
  • Urban planning
  • Architecture
  • Interior design
  • Structural engineering (concepts)
  • Equipment engineering (concepts)
  • Building physics
  • Conceptual energy and environment plan
  • Project management
  • Cost control
Description

The Société du Grand Paris is looking to develop the concept of a functional station, with the aim being to create an emblematic station: this shift in definition is consistent with the recognition of the role of Nanterre La Folie station in its urban setting, namely its visual prominence in the local area and its ability to act as an active, central focus which is undoubtedly generated by the flows of people using the rail network.

The station development is associated with a related project managed by EPADESA (the “Les Groues” complex) consisting of a superstructure of living accommodation and offices.

To ensure the success of the emblematic station project, and to secure its influence in the local area, it would, in absolute terms, be preferable to consider the various elements as part of a single design.

The existence of multiple clients has led to the splitting of the project into two design processes, with no more than simple coordination between the two. Although the issues are not insurmountable, this situation is problematic in the context of creating an emblematic station. It is difficult to imagine that the station will have an impact on the local area if its visibility rises no higher than the ground floor level of a fairly tall building, which will, moreover, be designed by other parties.

The optimal design of an “augmented station” requires consideration of the cross-section through the station and associated project as a whole, in order to find a better way for them to work together: allocating a more generous vertical elevation to the station and making the operational autonomy of the two projects simpler for the benefit of their respective clients.

The preliminary studies commissioned by the clients have proposed superimposing the various floors of the superstructure required for the associated project on top of the ground floor occupied by the station; this would require massive columns to support these floors extending through the various station levels, which would obstruct the fluidity of movements and views.

If this superimposed design was replaced by a progressive forward extension of the floors of the associated project above the station, then the station  could open out upwards and there would not be any need for the station to support the load of the associated project: hence the idea of a volume whose transverse cross-section is a raised triangle, a dihedral. Its south-facing elevation is a large glazed façade to receive light and with views over the urban landscape of la Défense; on the north side it adjoins the associated project.

The station would become a large box of light, a magical lantern, a fine spiders web-like structure which would create plays of light when lit by daylight and night-time lighting.

The eye is drawn to it by its vast triangular forecourt, 10 m high, which also forms the entrance porch for the associated project.


THE URBAN CONTEXT

The “Les Groues” complex forms the centre of a neighbourhood in the making, below which there is a multimodal station connected to the Eole express train network.

With an irregular polygonal ground plan, the complex sits inside a dense and equally irregular network of developed areas and pedestrianised public spaces, which also includes two walkways above the Eole tracks, the balcony and the place du Marché.

The ground floor of the complex must therefore offer a high degree of permeability and a varied commercial offering, boosted by the presence of the place du Marché on its eastern flank. The transverse hall of the station can be accessed via the north forecourt and the south balcony, which emphasises this permeability.

A long glazed dihedral covers the station over the entire southern length of the complex, and is built up against the large monolithic and porous volume of the associated project.

The dihedral has four openings for light and fresh air on its north-facing elevation, which are highly beneficial for the management of the station, both from a sensorial point of view and in terms of energy management.

On the floors of the superstructure above the vast commercial ground floor, a collection of thin buildings, more or less perpendicular to the tracks, has been suggested with east-west oriented facades.

This arrangement avoids the “unrewarding” views over the cluster of Eole railway tracks and opens up the complex to the rue de la Garenne, and lighting up the public spaces to the north. It also highlights the simplicity and economy of the structural features. However, this main architectural idea of a dihedral concept gives the EPADESA total autonomy over its development project.


THE STATION

The station’s large transverse hall is located to the west of the dihedral and shares the same axis. To the north, it can be accessed directly via the forecourt, through the opening visible from rue de Lens and from the Cours des Groues, at the corner of rue de la Garenne and the Hébert passageway. Covered by the associated project, the triangular space, three-floors high, of the forecourt extends as a balcony to the south via a bar with terrace area, above “multi-service outlets” and other “passenger service areas”, and also offering a view over the heart of the station. There is also direct access to the Hall from the south via the balcony and the “Eole” walkway.

It is from this large hall, after passing the ticket barriers, that you can access the other floors (escalators, stairs and lifts), concentrated at the extreme western point in the axis of the dihedral and leading to the passenger transfer level (-14.40 m). This concentration offers not only an unobstructed walkway, bathed in natural light, but also, both from the hall (0.00 m) and from the intermediate level (-7.20 m), wide views over the entire station through to the platforms at level -24.16 m.

The passenger transfer level (-14.40 m), which will provide connections in the future to the Verte-Orange station and to the Eole network, is also bathed in natural daylight and offers wide views towards the platforms at level -24.16 m; the south garden (at level -14.4 m, which extends under a walkway covered by a canopy; and the four small gardens to the north, at the foot of a light well which also provides natural ventilation.

Stairs and escalators are arranged casually here in the vast openings, taking passengers gently down onto the platforms.

Once again there is a feeling of space and well-being, of “freshness”, which prevails on these large platforms, free of any columns, bathed in light and naturally ventilated at level -24.16 m.

The train “tube” is constructed here with its ceiling 5.4 m above the platforms, and creating an open volume about 3.7 m high between the “water mirror” which covers it and the under-surface (acoustically-perforated mirrored steel) of the floor at level -14.4 m.

The façades of the platforms are thus 5.9 m high, 2.5 m of which is for the glazed walls and access doors to the trains and 3.4 m for the fanlight which runs over it in a continuous length. The images of the project show this fanlight in a mirror, once again to reflect the natural light. They illustrate the proposal to “expand” the space as much as possible.

Credits

Architecture and Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS All projects are designed by Philippe Samyn who also supervises every drawing
Structural Engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with SETESCO (sister company 1986-2006) or INGENIEURSBUREAU MEIJER (2007-2015) if not mentioned
Services engineering: Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS with FTI (sister company since 1989) if not mentioned

 

PROJECT OWNER
Société du Grand Paris, building « le Cézanne », 30 av. des Fruitiers, 93200 St Denis, France

 

ARCHITECTS & ENGINEERS
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers          Philippe Samyn
Chaussée de Waterloo, 1537   B-1180 Brussels                                 Exclusive copyright owner
Tel. + 32 2 374  90 60       Fax + 32 2 374 75 50
E-mail: sai@samynandpartners.com,

responsible for the Architecture, Building Physics, Structural and Equipment Engineering (concepts) (in coordination with the MOE Génie civil et Systèmes), Sustainable Construction, Urban Planning (with AGORA), Landscaping (with AGORA), Interior Design and Internal Coordination of the association,

the group consists of:
jointly, the specialised architects, the engineering offices and the experts:
–     Paul ANDREU Architecte Paris sas (Paris) (PAAP), consultant architect;
–     A’PMD (La Chapelle sous Brancion) ,  Pierre-Michel Delpeuch, architect engineer specialised in Architecture, Urban Planning, Territorial planning for transportation infrastructure projects, Flow management;
–     Bureau MICHEL FORGUE sarl (Paris), for the competence in Building Economics;
–     PEUTZ & ASSOCIES sarl (Paris), for the competence in Acoustics;
–     MAGIC MONKEY sprl (Brussels), for the competence in Lighting;
–     AGORA sa (Brussels), for the competence in Urban Planning and Landscaping;
–     CITAE sas (Montigny-le-Brotonneux), for the competence in Fire Safety and in Accessibility;
–     ROBRECHTS & THIENPONT cvba (Turnhout), for the competence in Security.


TEAM
Architecture:           
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl (Brussels)

Design Partner:
Dr Ir Philippe Samyn

Administrative Partners:           
Quentin Steyaert (Chef de projet), Benedetto CALCAGNO

Collaborators:           
Ghislain ANDRE, Giuseppe CARDILLO, Åsa DECORTE, Elista GESHEVA, David GUILLEMAUD, Roser IGUAL, Camille JACOBS, Benoit LACASSAGNE, Denis MELOTTE, Quentin OLBRECHTS, Vlad POPA, Antonio QUINONES, Paolo RUARO, Giulia VENTRE

Consultant Architect:           
PAAP sas (Paris):  Paul ANDREU, Daniel GRAIGNIC

Project Director:           
A’PMD (La Chapelle sous Brancion):  Pierre-Michel Delpeuch

Building Services                     
Concepts:           
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, Dr Ir Philippe Samyn                                   

Structural Concepts:           
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, Dr Ir Philippe Samyn                                                    

Building Physics and Energy Concepts:
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, Dr Ir Philippe Samyn

Costs Management:
Bureau Michel FORGUE sarl (Paris, Lyon), Michel Forgue, Céline ZACCARO

Acoustics:
PEUTZ & ASSOCIES sarl (Paris), Stephane MERCIER, Ir. Jean-Batiste BODIN

Security:
ROBRECHTS & THIENPONT cvba (Turnhout, Belgium), Paul ROBRECHTS, Marc THIENPONT                                                 

Lighting:
MAGIC MONKEY  sprl (Brussels), Daphné DELBEKE, Marc LARGENT

Urban Planning and Landscaping:
AGORA sa (Brussels), Ir. Paul PLAK, François-Xavier VAN MAELE, Pierre LORAND                                    

Fire Safety:
CITAE sas (Montigny-le-Brotonneux), Grégory BOURDIN, Philippe AUROUSSEAU

Accessibility:
CITAE sas (Montigny-le-Brotonneux), Remy LARGEMAIN, Justine BOIRAL,  Coline PROMPT

DOCUMENTATION

Documentation management:                       
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers (Andrés CHARON and Quentin OLBRECHTS)

Computer-generated images:              
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS, architects & engineers (Vlad POPA)

Renderings
Drawings

For plans sections and elevations, please refer to the archives section of the site available from the “references” menu.

625 - NANTERRE LA FOLIE STATIONsamyn