622 – AGENCE SPATIALE EUROPEENNE (ESA) – REDU

1, place de l’ESA, B-6890 Redu
50° 00 ‘ 6.38’’N/ 5° 08’ 55.99″ E

1.667,64 m², 2016-2019, (01/622)
Concours sur invitation.
Consultation « Design & Build » pour compte des Entreprises Houyoux.

Services effectués :
  • Architecture
  • Architecture intérieure
  • Aménagement des abords
  • Ingénierie des structures (avec Ben Verbeeck bvba)
  • Ingénierie des techniques spéciales (avec FTI sa)
  • Acoustique (avec A-TECH sa)
  • BREEAM, PEB, physique du bâtiment et commissioning (avec NEO&IDES sprl)
  • Coordination sécurité (avec COSEP sa)
Description :

Le site
L’ESA (European Space Agency) est installée dans une belle vallée ardennaise où ses paraboles d’un blanc pur et éclatant  “fleurissent” le paysage.

Cette vallée présent cependant un risque d’inondation de niveau moyen à élevé. Tout projet qui s’implanterait en demi-sous-sol, plus bas que les installations existantes, risquerait donc de subir des dégâts considérables en cas d’inondation, alors que, en revanche, tout gabarit trop élevé interfèrerait à coup sûr avec le champ d’action des antennes et paraboles.

L’ESA souhaite y implanter un bâtiment supplémentaire pour y regrouper un centre de sécurité technique se composant d’une zone opérationnelle et d’une zone administrative, la première citée comprenant des espaces de centres de contrôle et de centres data dotés d’une multitude de serveurs et d’écrans de contrôle.

L’implantation
Le projet vise un impact minimal sur le paysage. Profitant de la topographie existante, l’immeuble est posé sur pilotis et flotte au-dessus du paysage vallonné. Trente emplacements de parking se glissent discrètement sous le bâtiment. Outre son avantage paysager, cette disposition offre, à moindre coût, le grand confort d’emplacements couverts éclairés et ventilés naturellement. Sous le bâtiment, le terrain naturel est légèrement retravaillé pour créer des microreliefs utilisant le ruissellement des eaux pluviales pour irriguer naturellement les plantations. Deux emplacements de stationnement pour personnes à mobilité réduite (PMR) sont offerts en améliorant la disposition du stationnement existant devant le bâtiment T01.

Le paysage alentour est entièrement planté d’herbe (pelouses tondues et prairies fleuries) et de beaux arbres épars. L’implantation permet de conserver un maximum d’arbres existants et de développer la bande boisée au Sud-Ouest du bâtiment.

Le bâtiment reprend l’alignement des bâtiments voisins et respecte le relief naturel du site. L’orientation est désaxée de 42° par rapport aux points cardinaux tout en garantissant un excellent ensoleillement.

L’accès des piétons et des voitures s’effectue au départ de la voirie existante dans l’angle Nord. Une rampe suit la pente du terrain et mène au parking glissé entre les pilotis.

La lumière naturelle
L’organisation interne des bureaux vise à maximiser l’apport de lumière naturelle et la qualité des vues vers l’extérieur. La dualité entre compacité (nécessaire pour améliorer les performances énergétiques) et ouverture (nécessaire pour le confort visuel et le bien-être au travail) mène à organiser le plan autour d’un patio que le soleil, le vent, la pluie ou la neige animent. Tous les postes de travail, ainsi que les salles de réunion, sont disposés en façade et tous jouissent d’une vue directe vers l’extérieur, à l’exception des locaux très sécurisés en zone 5 et le local data.

Les parties vitrées des façades sont équipées de verre extra-clair. Le contrôle solaire est particulièrement efficace : les baies sont équipées de brise-soleil fixes en acier blanc et de stores mobiles en textile à manœuvre automatique. Ce dispositif offre une protection solaire optimale, quelle que soit la hauteur du soleil, tout en conservant une vue dégagée dès que la protection solaire n’est plus nécessaire, augmentant ainsi la quantité de lumière naturelle. Les brise-soleils fixes agissent également comme réflecteurs de lumière (“lightshelves”), réduisant l’éclairement trop fort sur les plans de travail situés contre la façade et renvoyant la lumière en profondeur dans les locaux.

La flexibilité
L’organisation interne des bureaux se dessine sur une trame régulière et remplit le plan carré de 41 m de côté. Les bureaux sont organisés sur les façades Sud-Est et Nord-Est afin de jouir des apports solaires et d’une belle vue dégagée vers le parc. A contrario, le local data est implanté au cœur du bâtiment, favorisant son indépendance par rapport aux conditions extérieures.

La trame de 8,10 m se fragmente en 6 modules de 1,35 m, offrant une modularité maximale pour l’usage envisagé. Les façades entièrement vitrées permettent une réorganisation particulièrement aisée des locaux.

Les locaux sont regroupés selon les différents pôles d’activité, en vue de favoriser les relations entre les personnes et faciliter le contrôle d’accès entre les zones.

Un outil fonctionnel, convivial et générique
Compact, libéré du risque d’inondation et des contraintes topographiques, d’un blanc éclatant (beau comme une parabole…), le nouveau bâtiment est un modèle d’outil fonctionnel et convivial.

Implanté parallèlement aux bâtiments existants O et T01 et contenant son propre stationnement, il est économe en surface de terrain. Partie intégrante du paysage, il l’introduit au cœur du bâti grâce au patio agrémenté d’un arbre en pleine terre.

Son organisation de plain-pied offre une accessibilité aisée et fluide, sans ascenseur ni monte-charge, équipements onéreux tant à l’installation qu’à l’entretien. Tous les locaux sont accessibles aux personnes à mobilité réduite, de même que le sas de liaison. Le projet est conçu de manière à être éligible pour le label Access-i (stationner, entrer, circuler, utiliser, évacuer). La convivialité de l’outil s’étend jusqu’au parking intégré sous le bâtiment et protégé des intempéries.

Des panneaux solaires photovoltaïques sont installés sur toute la surface de la toiture.

Le projet est également envisagé comme un objet générique facile à implanter, pas seulement à Redu, mais aussi ailleurs dans le monde, en Europe ou en Guyane par exemple. Le plan compact monté sur pilotis permet une implantation indépendante de la topographie. La forme souple du sas de liaison et son système constructif permettent de multiples configurations de raccordement à d’autres installations.

La durabilité
Le besoin de construction d’un nouveau bâtiment technique résulte du constat que le vieillissement de l’infrastructure existante la rend inadaptée à sa fonction. Le nouveau projet adopte une approche plus “durable”, en intégrant le cycle de vie du bâtiment dans son concept même : la “ruine intelligente”. Ainsi, le système constructif poutres/colonnes offre un plan libre aisé à aménager et à modifier, mais sa durée de vie propre peut se compter en centaines d’années. Les parachèvements, en revanche, sont soumis à usure et à obsolescence fonctionnelle et il importe qu’ils puissent être librement transformés au fil du temps. Leurs matériaux sont aussi choisis en fonction de leur capacité à “bien vieillir”, c’est-à-dire à se patiner plutôt que se dégrader : parements extérieurs en acier laqué, menuiseries extérieures et intérieures en bois, etc.

D’autre part, à terme, le démantèlement d’une structure articulée de telle façon ne produira pas de déchets toxiques.

La sécurité
Grâce au regroupement fonctionnel, les différentes zones de sécurité sont implantées, en toute logique, en cercles concentriques (zone 2 à l’extérieur, zone 5 au centre).

La disposition du bâtiment sur pilotis est avantageuse sur le plan de la sécurité antieffraction et celle-ci est renforcée par les systèmes de détection anti-intrusion et de vidéosurveillance, ainsi que par la présence d’agents de sécurité sur le site.

En matière d’incendie, le bâtiment est considéré comme un bâtiment bas au sens de la “Norme de Base” (annexe 2/1 à l’A.R. du 1994-07-07). Un système de détection d’incendie généralisée est prévu, ainsi que des moyens d’extinction appropriés aux différents risques : gaz inerte pour le centre data, dévidoirs, hydrants et extincteurs ailleurs.

Le système constructif
Le choix des matériaux de construction est régi par le souci d’une empreinte environnementale minimale, tout en gardant à l’esprit qu’un système constructif rigoureux (trame régulière de 8,10 x 8,10 m) et classique (le béton, l’acier, le bois) mènent toujours au meilleur choix économique. La volonté de favoriser la préfabrication et de réduire le temps de montage va également dans le même sens.

Les éléments constructifs, colonnes en acier et poutres en bois lamellé-collé, planchers mixtes acier-béton, offrent des plateaux libres d’une hauteur nette de minimum 3,42 m. Les planchers, calculés pour une surcharge d’exploitation de 500 kg/m², reposent sur des colonnes en béton. Celles-ci portent sur des dés de fondation en béton armé posés sur le terrain compact rencontré à faible profondeur. Cette disposition limite les travaux de terrassement, les nuisances du charroi de chantier ainsi que les incidences sur les impétrants existants (câbles data, fibres optiques, caniveaux, etc.).

Les fondations légères, l’absence de locaux en sous-sol, ainsi que la rapidité de montage grâce à la préfabrication et à la précision inhérentes aux structures métalliques et en bois, réduisent fortement les nuisances exercés par le chantier sur l’exploitation optimale du site de l’ESA, tant en termes de bruit et de poussières que de vibrations, très nuisibles aux installations de télécommunication au sol et aux équipements informatiques. Le système constructif permet également un démontage aisé, offrant à l’ESA la possibilité d’éventuellement délocaliser son infrastructure.

Le confort thermique
Le confort thermique d’un bâtiment qui consomme peu d’énergie et, a fortiori, d’un bâtiment qui n’en consomme pas ou qui en produit, doit avant tout profiter des apports passifs, avoir une enveloppe continûment isolée très étanche à l’air et favoriser l’inertie thermique.

Le site ne reçoit pas d’ombres portées et l’ensoleillement y est optimal. L’isolation des parois extérieures opaques est particulièrement poussée (valeur U ≤ 0,15 W/m²K). Compte tenu de l’occupation continue des centres de contrôle et des apports internes des serveurs informatiques, ainsi que de la généralisation d’un faux-plancher technique, le chauffage et le refroidissement sont assurés par des convecteurs de sol encastrés avec contrôle zonal.

Le confort hygrothermique
Le confort hygrothermique est assuré par le chauffage, le refroidissement et la ventilation. Par temps hivernal ou estival, le bâtiment doit avoir un climat contrôlé, aussi indépendant que possible du climat extérieur. La ventilation est forcée par un groupe équipé d’un récupérateur de chaleur à roue hygroscopique à haut rendement. L’air frais est aspiré au travers d’une prise d’air située en toiture. La centrale de traitement d’air est installée dans le local technique central du niveau  -1 (niveau parking). La régulation de la ventilation est à débit constant dans les bureaux durant les heures d’occupation et à débit variable, asservie à des sondes CO2, dans les locaux à occupation variable.

En mi-saison, lorsque le climat extérieur est proche du climat désiré à l’intérieur (température extérieure comprise entre 15°C et 22°C), l’utilisateur a la possibilité d’ouvrir les châssis tombants pour laisser entrer l’air : son local passe alors en régime de ventilation naturelle (“free cooling”).

La hauteur libre de 3,42 m offre un important volume d’air par personne, qui a pour effet d’adoucir les variations climatiques induites par les équipements de chauffage et de ventilation.

Le confort acoustique
Le site est particulièrement calme. A l’intérieur, la forte densité d’installations data et la réflexion sonore sur les surfaces dures des façades sont compensées par des absorbeurs acoustiques réduisant le temps de réverbération.

L’isolation acoustique entre locaux est garantie par les performances des cloisons en plaques de plâtre à ossature métallique de type “MS100” et celles des cloisons vitrées, munies d’un vitrage approprié.

Le confort visuel
Le bâtiment est largement vitré et ouvert sur son environnement paysager, sans pour autant augmenter les besoins frigorifiques, grâce au contrôle solaire. Par temps gris, les stores textiles sont relevés, la lumière naturelle et la vue vers le monde extérieur sont préservées. L’apport généreux de lumière naturelle (autonomie en éclairage naturel estimé selon notre expérience à 60 % entre 8h00 et 18h00) diminue substantiellement l’énergie nécessaire pour l’éclairage artificiel électrique, grâce à des sondes de luminosité qui en modulent la puissance. L’installation d’éclairage inclut des luminaires TL à basse luminance et haut indice de rendu des couleurs, suspendus à des rails permettant leur déplacement aisé (flexibilité d’aménagement). L’éclairage est partiellement indirect (20 %) pour limiter le contraste visuel. L’ensemble est géré par un système de détection d’absence avec dérogation locale, asservi à une détection de luminosité d’ambiance.

Les menuiseries extérieures sont en bois (100% ouvrantes, pour un entretien aisé), à double vitrage extra-clair préservant la qualité de la lumière naturelle et les vues vers le paysage. Les “lightshelves” optimisent l’éclairement naturel, limitent l’éblouissement et offrent une protection solaire fixe partielle. Aucun poste de travail n’est à plus de 6 m d’un apport de lumière naturelle.

Les techniques spéciales
La production de chaleur nécessaire pour compenser les déperditions (transmission, ventilation et infiltration) et pour mettre le bâtiment en régime après ralentissement est réalisée au moyen de pompes à chaleur récupérant une partie de la chaleur évacuée par le matériel du centre data. Considérant une température élevée et constante de l’air de 20°C et une température de production d’eau chaude de 40°C, le coefficient de performance énergétique de la PAC sera maintenu au-dessus de 5,00 en permanence.

La production de froid pour le bâtiment doit couvrir les apports variables liés à l’ensoleillement ainsi qu’à l’occupation (personnes, équipements et éclairage) dans les zones administratives combinée aux apports constants des équipements dans le centre data. L’eau glacée est produite au moyen d’un drycooler placé en toiture, à l’aplomb du centre data combiné à un chiller à condensation à eau placé dans le local technique au niveau 0. Cette combinaison permet un refroidissement passif par free chilling des locaux pour des températures extérieures inférieures à 12°C, souvent rencontrées dans nos contrées, et un refroidissement actif via le chiller pour des températures supérieures. Le chiller est équipé de plusieurs compresseurs assurant une sécurité de fonctionnement.

Les consommations d’énergie électrique liées au fonctionnement des installations techniques de confort dans le bâtiment (ventilation, chauffage, refroidissement, éclairage, auxiliaires) sont compensées par la production de panneaux solaires photovoltaïques placés sur la toiture.  La toiture permet le placement d’environ 640 m² de panneaux qui assurent une production annuelle estimée à 83,2 MWh.

Les distributions de fluides (air, eau froide et eau chaude) et d’électricité sont principalement réalisées via des réseaux placés dans le faux-plancher technique.

La gestion de l’eau
L’eau sanitaire potable est l’eau de distribution, de qualité contrôlée. L’eau pluviale est récupérée, filtrée et décolorée pour alimenter en priorité les robinets d’entretien ou d’arrosage, ainsi que les chasses d’eau. Le dimensionnement est établi suivant les besoins tout en visant un rejet d’eau pluviale nul. Le trop-plein éventuel est rejeté vers le parc où il s’infiltrera progressivement et naturellement. Les eaux grises sont traitées par le lagunage existant remis en état.

La gestion de l’entretien
Les locaux techniques réalisés en toiture et au niveau du parking sont situés centralement pour limiter la longueur des canalisations et faciliter l’entretien des installations. Les équipements sont gérés par l’installation de GTC qui permet aussi de mesurer, sauvegarder et communiquer les données de consommation. Le gestionnaire du bâtiment peut ainsi vérifier en temps réel la consommation d’énergie des installations et peut intervenir en cas de défaut. Les matériaux de façade sont de nature résistante, permettent un entretien aisé des surfaces et sont inscrits dans des circuits d’économie circulaire. Les menuiseries intérieures en bois sont d’entretien facile et le bois acquiert une patine qui enrichira les espaces au fil du temps.

“Zéro énergie”
Les objectifs de performances environnementales visent un confort agréable et adapté à la fonction tout en minimalisant le coût total de l’installation. Il est envisagé d’atteindre un bilan nul de consommation d’énergie primaire (Nearly Zero Energy Building).

Localisation :
Crédits :

LOCALISATION
Pace de l’ESA, 1
6890 Redu,  Belgique             

SURFACE et DONNÉE
Surface brute : 1.500 m²

MAÎTRE D’OUVRAGE
EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY
Design and Build avec HOUYOUX CONSTRUCTION
ARCHITECTES & INGÉNIEURS
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers         Ph. Samyn
Chaussée de Waterloo, 1537   B-1180 Bruxelles                               Propriétaire  exclusif des droits d’auteur (copyright)
Tél. + 32 2 374  90 60       Fax + 32 2 374 75 50
E-mail: sai@samynandpartners.com

ÉQUIPE
Architecture                           
Design Partner:
Dr Ir Ph. SAMYN
En collaboration avec:
B. VAN DAMME (Phase concours)
Administrative Partner:Å. DECORTE, G. ANDRÉ (Phase concours)
Collaborateurs:K. AMMOR, J. YARAMIS, O. LENGYEL, D. MÉLOTTE, V. POPA, R. SOMFELEAN

Techniques spéciales:Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers,
avec FLOW TRANSFER INTERNATIONAL sa (sous-traitant)
A. JANSSENS
Rue du Ham, 137 B-1180 Bruxelles, Belgique
Tél. : +32 2 375 75 40  E-mail : info@fti-sa.be

Stabilité :
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers,
avec INGENIEURSBUREAU BEN VERBEECK en PARTNERS  bvba (sous-traitant)
Ir B. VERBEECK
Herman Ullenslei, 9, B-2640 Mortsel, Belgique
Tél. : +32 0477 633 544 E-mail : ben@benverbeeck.eu

Conseiller BREEAM et études environnementales :
NEO & IDES  
B. BUSCH, J.-P. LEMAIRE et M. LEROY
Rue des Chasseurs Ardennais, 3, 4031 Angleur
Tél. : +32 4 366 00 17 E-mail : info@neo-ides.be

Conseiller Acoustique :
A-TECH Acoustic Technologies s.a.Ir J.-P. CLAIRBOIS
Avenue Brugmann, 215n 1050 Bruxelles
Tél. : +32 2 344 85 85, Fax : +32 2 346 20 99E-mail : mail@atech-acoustictechnologies.com

Paysage :
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers

Sécurité :
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers

Coordinateur Sécurité-Santé :
COSEP
Rue du Fond Cattelain, 5, 1435 Mont-Saint-Guibert
Tél. : +32 10 81 37 50, Fax : + 32 10 84 24 50
E-mail : cosep@cosep.be

DOCUMENTATION
Gestion documentation :
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (A. CHARON et Q. OLBRECHTS)

Photos:
Chantier:
Rendus :
622 - AGENCE SPATIALE EUROPEENNE (ESA) – REDUsamyn

622 – EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY (ESA) – REDU

1, place de l’ESA, B-6890 Redu
50° 00 ‘ 6.38’’N/ 5° 08’ 55.99″ E

1.667,64 sqm, 2016-2019, (01/622)
Competition by invitation.
Consultation « Design & Build » on behalf of Entreprises Houyoux.

Services performed:
  • Architecture
  • Interior design
  • Perimeter area structuring
  • Structural engineering (with Ben Verbeeck bvba)
  • Technical building services (with FTI sa)
  • Acoustics (with A-TECH sa)
  • BREEAM, building energy performance, building physics and commissioning (with NEO&IDES sprl)
  • Safety coordination (with COSEP sa)
Description:

Site

The ESA (European Space Agency) is located in a magnificent Ardennes valley, where its pure and brilliant white satellite dishes “decorate” the landscape.

However, the valley is at risk of being flooded with the water reaching quite a high level, such that any project established in the half-basement would risk sustaining serious damage in the event of flooding, whereas any excessively high building outline would interfere with the operating area of the aerials and dishes.

The ESA would like to establish a further building there in order to bring together a set of activities specific to its programmes, in particular the round-the-clock monitoring of its satellites. This building comprises an operational area, a high security centre and an administrative area. The operational area includes control centres and a data centre, featuring an array of servers and control screens.

Layout

The project is designed to minimise the impact upon the landscape. Exploiting the existing land form, the building sits on pillars and floats above the hilly valley. Thirty parking area places are set discretely under the building. In addition to its landscape benefits, this layout offers a high-level of cost-effective comfort with illuminated, naturally ventilated covered areas. The natural soil under the building is altered slightly to create microreliefs, using rain water runoffs to irrigate plants naturally. Two parking areas for people with reduced mobility (PRM) are provided as a result of improving the layout of the parking area available in front of building T01.

The surrounding landscape is planted entirely with grass (mowed lawns and flower meadows) and beautiful scattered trees. The layout is designed to retain as many of the existing trees as possible and to develop the wooded strip to the south-east of the building.

The building continues the alignment of the neighbouring buildings, respecting the site’s natural topography. The orientation is 42° out of line with the cardinal points, while guaranteeing an excellent level of sunlight.

Pedestrian and vehicle access is provided from the start of the existing road in the northern corner. A ramp follows the slope of the land, leading to the parking area situated between the pillars.

Natural light

The internal layout of the offices seeks to maximise the amount of natural light and the quality of the views on the outside environment. As a result of the interplay between compactness (required to enhance energy efficiency) and openness (required for visual comfort and well-being in the workplace), the layout is organised on the basis of a patio affected by the influence of sun, wind, rain or snow. All the workplaces and meeting rooms are laid out along the facades, thus enjoying a direct view of the outdoor environment, except for the high-security rooms in area 5 and the data room.

The glazed areas of the facades are provided with extra-clear glass. The sunlight control system is particularly efficient: the apertures are provided with fixed white steel shading devices and automatically operated mobile textile blinds. This system offers maximum solar protection, irrespective of how high the sun is, while retaining an unobstructed view once solar protection is no longer required, thus increasing the amount of natural light. The fixed shading devices also act as light reflectors (“lightshelves”), to reduce excessive light on the work surfaces located against the facade and direct the light deeper into the rooms.

Flexibility

The internal layout of the offices is marked out in a regular framework and fills the square area by 41 m on each side. The offices are established at the south-east and north-east facades in order to benefit from the sunlight and a magnificent unobstructed view towards the park. Conversely, the data room is located in the centre of the building, so it is not affected by outside conditions.

The 8.10 m framework is divided into 6 modules (1.35 m), to provide maximum modular options for the planned use. The fully glazed facades allow the rooms to be reorganised quite easily.

The rooms are grouped together according to the various fields of activity in order to encourage human interaction and facilitate access control between the areas.

Functional, user-friendly and generic tool

Compact, free from any risk of flooding and topographical constraints, a brilliant white colour (as attractive as a satellite dish…), the new building is an exemplary functional and user-friendly tool.

Established in parallel to the existing O and T01 buildings and containing its own parking area, it saves on the amount of ground surface required. As an integral part of the landscape, the new building sites the landscape in the centre of the built environment via the patio complemented by a tree in the ground.

The one-storey layout provides easy and fluid access, without the need for a passenger or goods lift that is expensive to install and maintain. All the rooms are accessible to people with reduced mobility, as is the connecting chamber. The project is designed so as to be eligible for the Access-i label and allow the level of accessibility to be identified (parking, entering, moving around, using and leaving). The tool’s user-friendliness extends to the parking area incorporated under the building and protected against bad weather.

Solar panels cover the entire roof.

The project is also designed to be a generic object that is easy to establish not only at Redu but elsewhere in the world, in Europe or in Guyana, for example. The compact pillar-supported layout allows for a construction irrespective of the topography. The flexible shape of the connecting chamber and its structural system facilitates various patterns for connecting to other installations.

Sustainable

The need to erect a new technical building is a reflection of the observation that the ageing of the existing facilities makes its unfit for purpose. The new project adopts a more “sustainable” approach by including the building’s life cycle in its very concept: “intelligent ruin”. Consequently, the beams/columns structural system provides an open plan layout that is easy to arrange and alter, while its longevity may be counted in hundreds of years. Conversely, the finishings are subject to wear and tear and functional obsolescence, hence the need for them to be transformed without hindrance over time. Their materials are also chosen in the light of their ability to “age well”, i.e. to acquire a patina rather than deteriorate: protective lacquered steel for external facings, wood for the external and internal joinery work,.. .

Moreover, the dismantlement of a structure thus organised will not produce any toxic waste.

Security

Grouping according to function ensures the various security areas are obviously established in concentric circles (area 2 to the outside, area 5 to the centre).

Having the building resting on pillars offers benefits in terms of security against intrusion, consolidated by intrusion detection and video surveillance systems, plus onsite security guards.

In the event of fire, the building is regarded as a low-rise structure pursuant to the “Basic Standard” (annex 2/1 to the Royal Decree of 1994-07-07). A general fire protection system is provided for, along with extinguishing agents suitable for the various risks: inert gas for the data centre, reels and extinguishers.

Structural system

The choice of construction materials is based on the need for a minimal environmental footprint, while bearing in mind that a meticulous (a regular 8.10 x 8.10 m framework) and standard (concrete and steel) structural system invariably results in a cost-effective option.

The structure provides floor areas with a minimum net height of 3.43 m. The floors, cast-in-place concrete mushroom slab constructions, are calculated for a load due to occupants and furnishings equal to 500 kg/m². The roof structure comprises ribbed steel sheets sitting on steel secondary beams. These are resting on false pits with reinforced concrete dice laid on the compact ground found at a shallow depth. This arrangement helps to reduce the earthworks, the negative effects of site cartage and the impact on the existing underground service networks (data cables, optic fibres, gutters,…).

Thermal comfort

The thermal comfort of an energy-efficient building should make the most of passive inputs and have a continuously insulated, very air-tight shell.

The building is divided into two areas earmarked for different purposes: an administrative area akin to sporadically occupied offices, and an operational area, also comprising regularly occupied meeting rooms.

The site is not affected by cast shadows, while enjoying a maximum amount of sunlight. There is a high level of insulation on the opaque outside walls.

The administrative area’s heating and cooling requirements are met thanks to the inductive displacement diffusers placed in the breast wall, below the windows, directly offsetting the losses as well as all the inputs.

In view of the fact that the control centres are constantly occupied and in the light of the high internal inputs for their equipment, this area is heated and chilled via active radiant ceilings to allow the appropriate refrigerating capacities to be installed.

Hydrothermal comfort

The heating, chilling and ventilation systems are used to provide hydrothermal comfort. In winter or in summer, the building needs to have a controlled climate that is as independent as possible from the outdoor climate. The ventilation is forced via a high-efficiency hygroscopic wheel heat recovery unit. Fresh air is sucked through an air intake on the roof. The air-conditioning unit is established at level -1 (parking area level). The ventilation is subject to constant flow control in the offices during occupied hours and variable flow control, controlled with CO2 probes, in rooms with variable occupancy levels. The air is blown through the access floor using inductive displacement diffusers in the breast wall or directly through floor diffusers. Extraction is achieved by means of ceiling vents via the access floor.

The 3,15 m height clearance provides a significant amount of per capita air volume, thereby reducing the climatic variations caused by the heating and ventilation equipment.

Acoustic comfort

The site is extremely quiet. Indoors, the dense clustering of data installations and the sound reflected on the hard surfaces of the facades is offset by sound dampers reducing the reverberation time.

Inter-room sound insulation is provided thanks to the performance of the “MS100” stud plasterboard partitions and that of the glazed partitions featuring suitable partition glass.

Visual comfort

The extensively glazed building is open to its surrounding landscape but the sunlight control system avoids the need to boost the cooling capacity. When the weather is dull, the textile blinds are lifted, with the natural light and the view of the outdoor environment being retained. The significant amount of natural light (experience shows the estimated daylight autonomy to be 60 % between 8 am and 6 pm) means a huge cut in the power required for artificial electric lighting, as a result of the power-controlling light intensity sensors. The lighting system includes florescent light fittings with low brightness and a high colour rending index that are incorporated into the suspended ceilings so they are easy to move (layout flexibility). Everything is managed by an absence detection system with local exemption, dependent upon background brightness detection.

Wood is used for outdoor joinery work (fully operable for easy maintenance), with extra-clear double glazing retaining the quality of the natural light and views of the outdoor environment. The “lightshelves” maximise the impact of the natural light, reducing any dazzling and providing fixed partial solar protection. None of the workplaces is more than 6 m away from the natural light.

Special techniques

The heat needed to offset losses (transmissions, ventilation and infiltration) and bring the building into operation subsequent to a slowdown is produced using a heat pump installed on the roof. This allows some of the heat dissipated into the data centre material to be recovered. When the heating requirements exceed the potential level of recovered heat, the heat pump operates by extracting calories in the air outside. In view of the continuous heat inputs from the data centre and a hot water production temperature equal to 45°C, the coefficient of the heat pump energy performance will be kept at a high level in the event of building heating demands.

Cooling for the building has to cover the variable inputs related to the amount of sunlight and occupancy levels (people, equipment and lighting) in the control and administrative areas, together with the constant equipment inputs in the data centre. Iced water is produced by means of air condensation chillers installed on the roof, directly above the data centre. These  chillers are sized to meet the requirements of the redundancies specific to the items of equipment installed and their use. In the interests of high energy performance levels, a chiller based on passive cooling via free-cooling for outdoor temperatures below 12°C is incorporated and a hierarchy of uses is developed for these cold generators according to their energy efficiency.

Electricity consumption related to the operation of comfort-based technical installations in the building (ventilation, heating, cooling, lighting, auxiliary equipment) will be offset by the output from the solar panels placed on the roof. The roof can accommodate 428m² of panels to ensure an estimated annual output of 70.5 MWh.

Fluids (air, cold and hot water) and electricity are generally distributed via networks installed in the access flooring.

Water management

Sanitary drinking water is quality-controlled mains water. Rain water is recovered and filtered so as to supply first and foremost the maintenance taps, and the flushing systems. The size is determined according to the requirements. Any overflow is discharged toward the park to seep through gradually and naturally. Water from the building is treated by a purification plant before being discharged to the existing lagooning system.

Maintenance management

The service rooms established at roof level and in the parking area are centrally situated in order to limit the length of the pipes and make it easier to maintain the installations. Deploying the centralised technical management system for equipment also makes it possible to measure, protect and communicate the consumption data. The building manager is therefore able to make a real-time check of the installations’ energy consumption and take action in the event of malfunctioning. The facade materials are resilient thus facilitating easy surface cleaning and are included in the circular economy channels. The indoor woodwork is easy to clean, while the wood acquires a patina that helps to embellish the various spaces over time.

Credits:

LOCATION
Pace de l’ESA, 1
6890 Redu,  Belgium

SURFACE
Gross area : 1.500 sqm

CLIENT
EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY
Design and Build with HOUYOUX CONSTRUCTIONS

ARCHITECTS & ENGINEERS
Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers          Ph. Samyn
Chaussée de Waterloo, 1537   B-1180 Brussels                                Exclusive owner of the copyrights.

Tel. + 32 2 374  90 60       Fax + 32 2 374 75 50
E-mail: sai@samynandpartners.com

TEAM
Architecture
Design Partner                       :            Dr Ir Ph. SAMYN
In collaboration with               :            B. VAN DAMME (Competition phase)
Administrative Partner            :            Å. DECORTE, G. ANDRÉ (Competition phase)
Collaborators                          :            K. AMMOR, J. YARAMIS, O. LENGYEL, D.
MÉLOTTE, V. POPA, R. SOMFELEAN

Building services                      :            Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers, with FLOW TRANSFER INTERNATIONAL sa (subcontractor)

A. Janssens
Rue du Ham, 137 B-1180 Brussels, Belgium
Tel. : +32 2 375 75 40  E-mail : info@fti-sa.be

Structural engineering            :            Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers,
with INGENIEURSBUREAU BEN VERBEECK en PARTNERS  bvba (subcontractor)
Ir B. VERBEECK
Herman Ullenslei, 9, B-2640 Mortsel, Belgium
Tel. : +32 0477 633 544 E-mail : ben@benverbeeck.eu

BREEAM advisor and
environmental studies            :            NEO & IDE

B.BUSCH, J.-P. LEMAIRE and M. LEROY
Rue des Chasseurs Ardennais, 3, 4031 Angleur
Tel. : +32 4 366 00 17 E-mail : info@neo-ides.be

Acoustics                                  :            A-TECH Acoustic Technologies s.a.
Ir J.-P. CLAIRBOIS
Avenue Brugmann, 215n 1050 Brussels
Tel. : +32 2 344 85 85, Fax : +32 2 346 20 99
E-mail : mail@atech-acoustictechnologies.com

Landscaping                           :           Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers

Safety                                         :           Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS sprl, architects & engineers

Health and safety
coordination                            :            COSEP
Rue du Fond Cattelain, 5, 1435 Mont-Saint-Guibert
Tel. : +32 10 81 37 50, Fax : + 32 10 84 24 50
E-mail : cosep@cosep.be

DOCUMENTATION

Documentation
management                         :            Philippe SAMYN and PARTNERS (A. CHARON and Q. OLBRECHTS)

Location:
Renderings:
Building site:
622 - EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY (ESA) – REDUsamyn